Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Umbilicus featuring Cannibal Corpse/Deicide members releases eponymous new single »Umbilicus«!

Florida 70s rockers Umbilicus featuring Cannibal Corpse/Deicide members have released the fourth and final single »Umbilicus« taken from their upcoming debut album, »Path Of 1000 Suns«, out on September 30h, 2022 via Listenable Insanity Records / Blood Blast Distribution.

01. Hello Future
02. Umbilicus
03. Gates Of Neptune
04. I, Human
05. Stump Sponge
06. My Own Tide
07. Life On The Sun
08. The Call
09. Traveler
10. Gathering At The Kuiper Belt

Courtesy of Infecting Cells PR:

70s rock outfit Umbilicus has released their fourth and final single, »Umbilicus«, from their upcoming album »Path Of 1000 Suns«, which is due September 30th via Listenable Insanity Records. The new single showcases the band’s classic hard rock tendencies, as well as vocalist Brian Stephenson’s impressive vocal range.

“The story behind »Umbilicus« is pretty hilarious. When Paul, Vern, and I were jamming and writing at the Cannibal spot, we noticed this tiny little plant growing from the ceiling. Weeks went by and it got longer and longer and eventually it reached the floor. So we wrote a new tune at the time and it was dubbed Umbilicus, named after the plant, also because I had read the word when I was reading “It” by Stephen King and it may have been in one of the Alien movies as well… It eventually became the band name, too! You can hear a lyric in there about “..from a ceiling in Florida”. It’s a pretty fun song, musically and lyrically.” Nordberg said, explaining the story behind the Umbilicus name.

Photo by Deidra Kling

The group is comprised of drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz (Cannibal Corpse), guitarist Taylor Nordberg (Deicide, Inhuman Condition, The Absence), bassist Vernon Blake (Anarchus, Napalm Death – live), and vocalist and lyricist Brian Stephenson (Fore, Old James). The instrumentalists grouped together in the summer of 2020, crafting the music for what became »Path Of 1000 Suns« throughout the remainder of the year, then tapping vocalist Stephenson the following year to complete the lineup.

»Path Of 1000 Suns« is the band’s first album and features 10 original compositions. Mixing and mastering for the album, as well as the album’s artwork was handled by guitarist Taylor Nordberg at Smoke & Mirrors Productions.

Pre-order »Path Of 1000 Suns« at

Umbilicus is:
Brian Stephenson – Vocals
Paul Mazurkiewicz – Drums
Vernon Blake – Bass
Taylor Nordberg – Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.