Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US doom/punk act Cache announces self-titled debut EP to be released June 30th; first single »Fentanyl & Friends« streaming!

Minneapolis, Minnesota based doom/punk act Cache featuring current and former members of Morality Crisis, Blue Ox, Aziza and Maeth has announced their self-titled debut EP, which will be released on June 30th, 2023.

Listen to the first single »Fentanyl & Friends« below!

01. El Rudo
02. Forever In Retrograde
03. Fentanyl & Friends
04. Doused
05. Good Morning You Mongrels
06. Severance Package (Off With My Head)

Courtesy of Earsplit PR:

Minnesota-based quintet Cache arrives with their eponymous debut EP, now confirmed for release June 30th.

Formed in 2019 and reformed in 2022 (pandemic woes in between), Cache is a five-piece band from Minneapolis featuring members of current acts Serac, Blue Ox, Dana Sterling, and Kaldeket. Members have also previously played in bands such as Aziza, Morality Crisis, Maeth, and Saginaw.

The output of Cache is what you get when a sludge metal band steers away from the doom and gloom and writes a punch-drunk rock and roll record. While emphasizing catchiness and fun, Cache still employs the appropriate amount of knuckle-dragging associated with the genre, never sacrificing the sound of splitting heads. Influences cited include Floor, Torche, Karp, and Queens Of The Stone Age; bands that are as infectious and hook-laden as they are heavy and uncompromising. The result is a gleeful mix of ripping hardcore punk, stoner rock, and sludge metal, that can be gobbled down like a handful of candy spoils ripped from the entrails of a piñata beaten beyond recognition.

Photo by Luke Olson

Cache recorded their eponymous debut EP at Signaturetone Recording Studios (Thou, Ulthar, Sunless) in January of 2023, with Adam Tucker engineering, mixing, and mastering the project. The EP is completed with a watercolor painting by Bearach Coughlin as its cover.

With the first single from Cache, »Fentanyl & Friends«, drummer Josh Dingel offers, “»Fentanyl & Friends« was chosen for the heavy, circular opening riff and lyrical theme of the world doubling down on its excesses – even the poisons have poisons in them.”

The band will self-release the »Cache« EP digitally on June 30th, with a limited physical version to follow. Find digital preorders at Bandcamp HERE.

Watch for additional singles from the EP as well as a release show and more to be announced shortly.

Cache is:
Josh Dingel – Drums
Kyle Caspers – Vocals
Pete Noteboom – Guitar
David Ports – Guitar
Luke Olson – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.