Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US doom/sludge/stoner metal trio Hibernaut to release their debut album »Ingress« on May 3rd; 3 songs streaming now on Bandcamp!

Salt Lake City, Utah based doom/sludge/stoner metal trio Hibernaut featuring members of SubRosa, Dwellers and more is gearing up to release their debut album »Ingress« on May 3rd, 2023 in digital format. Tracks »Stygian Nectar«, »Lantern Eyed« and »Spherical« are already available for streaming on Bandcamp!

Says the band: “We are thrilled to announce the upcoming release of our debut album »Ingress« on 5/3/2023! We have 3 songs streaming now on Bandcamp and the full album is available for pre-order. Upon release it will be available on all streaming platforms. We will get records pressed as well as CDs and tapes out later in the year.”

01. Stygian Nectar
02. Summoner
03. Projection
04. Sloe
05. Lantern Eyed
06. Nor’easter
07. Magog
08. Kaleidoscope
09. Mines
10. Aeons Entombed
11. Spherical

Hibernauts debut album »Ingress« will be released May 3, 2023.

Digital self release on all platforms, physical release will be later this year. Available now for pre-order on Bandcamp!


Hailing from Salt Lake City, Utah, United States. Hibernaut arose in a somnambulistic state in 2020 when Dave Jones began writing songs on guitar, a switch from years playing bass in SubRosa, Dwellers, Oxcross etc. As well as switching to guitar he also began writing lyrics and singing. In 2021 Dave played the songs for his long time friend and bandmate Zach Hatsis (Dwellers, SubRosa, Laughter, etc), who jumped right in and began adding his unique powerful drumming to the songs. Soon after Josh Dupree came in on bass with the thundering low end the band needed and the trio began regular rehersals. Demo recording began that year and they soon asked Joey Toscano (Iota, Dwellers) to fill a sonic void with his blisteringly psychedelic leads, thus, Hibernaut was complete. Recording studio dates were booked with Andy Patterson in 2022 and a week was spent laying down the bones of eleven tracks. In the following months all the extra bits were added and the album was mixed and mastered. The album entitled »Ingress« is the progeny of all the time and work put into Hibernaut. Song writing never stopped and Hibernaut is working on their next album.

»Ingress« album artwork:

Hibernaut asked the prolific Jordan Barlow to create artwork for the album based on the music and lyrics, which he called “Charmingly Lovecraftian”. The result is a fantastic piece, based mainly on songs »Lantern Eyed« and »Spherical«, laden with concepts and symbolism exploring Hibernauts underlying themes throughout the album.


Hibernaut wanted the advancing sonic wall that is the music, no matter the gait, crawling, trudging or galloping, to push and pull listeners ever onward. Dave Jones’ riffs are sent swirling from the primordial sludge of the pineal and his gutteral vocals, full of loathing and disgust, are urgent and aggrieved. Josh Dupree’s bass slithers through tracks like Sloe and Nor’easter creating an undulating sense of movement. Zach Hatsis’ drumming thunders down the tracks and climbs steep grades to open upon vast barren plains, creating a dimensional feel to the songs. Joey Toscano’s leads weave throughout the songs bringing fevered texture and wavering visions of audible darkness and light. Coagulation of these elements resulted in the music for the recording of »Ingress«, Hibernauts debut album.


Dave Jones’ tales of terror deal in death, dimesional existance (or non-existance), the psyche and even the hated wind as heard in Nor’easter. A constant lyrical theme aluded to throught the album “as above, so below”, life, death and the connection between all things. His goal in writing is to inspire vivid imagery and a feeling of presence as though the listeners were in a waking nightmare.

Josh Dupree – Bass
Dave Jones – Vocals and Rhythm Guitar
Zach Hatsis – Drums
Joey Toscano – Lead Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “US doom/sludge/stoner metal trio Hibernaut to release their debut album »Ingress« on May 3rd; 3 songs streaming now on Bandcamp!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.