Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US heavy/doom/stoner supergroup Cassius King stream their sophomore album »Dread The Dawn«, out today via Nomad Eel Records / MDD Records

US heavy/doom/stoner supergroup Cassius King featuring guitarist Dan Lorenzo (ex-Non-Fiction, Hades, Vessel Of Light) and vocalist Jason McMaster (ex-Watchtower, Dangerous Toys, Broken Teeth, Ignitor) is streaming their sophomore album, »Dread The Dawn«, which was just released today, October 21st, 2022 via Nomad Eel Records / MDD Records.

»Dread The Dawn« is available now on all streaming services!

01. Abandon Paradise
02. As I Beginn To Turn
03. Back From The Dead
04. Genesis
05. Royal Blooded
06. Pariah To Messiah
07. Dread The Dawn
08. How The West Was Won
09. Doomsday Hand
10. Bad Man Down
11. Troubleshooter

Courtesy of The Metallist PR:

Dan Lorenzo (ex-Non Fiction, Hades, Patriarchs In Black) is a riff machine made flesh, or as the trade press attested to him: His mastery in the art of writing real, true-to-life riffs is second to none! With »Dread The Dawn«, Cassius King once again prove this statement on their second album.

On 11 songs, the quartet rolls through dragging, poignant melodies, embraced by the striking vocals of Jason McMaster (ex-Watchtower, Dangerous Toys), which give the overall sound an authentic depth and driven by the merciless grooves of a Ron Lipnicki (ex-Overkill, Whiplash). Cassius King is a feeling set to music, which can’t really be done justice with the generic terms doom and stoner.

With the release of »Dread The Dawn«, the gentlemen also prove that Cassius King is much more than a uniquely constructed all-star project. If you count Dan Lorenzo’s solo album of the same name from 2004, the successor to last year’s »Field Trip« is already the third longplayer with an almost identical line-up. Those who let themselves be swept away by the songs on hand will involuntarily hope that this is not the last of its kind.

Order your copy here: (CD) (CD/cassette/digital)

All music by Dan Lorenzo, all lyrics by Jason McMaster.
Mixed and mastered by Jon “Jonny Rod” Ciorciari at JROD Productions.
Cover art by Claudio Bergamin.
Layout by Joseph Timmons.

Cassius King is:
Jason McMaster – Vocals
Dan Lorenzo – Guitar
Jimmy Schulman – Bass
Ron Lipnicki – Drums

Guest musicians:
Scott LePage – Guitar solos on Track 8 + 9
Michael Gilbert – Guitar solo on Track 1
Fred Mitchim – Flutes on Track 4

For fans of Black Sabbath, Black Label Society

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.