Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US heavy rock goldsmiths Abrams premiere their fourth studio album »In The Dark« in its entirety; out this Friday on Small Stone Records!

Denver, Colorado based heavy rock goldsmiths Abrams premiere their fourth studio album »In The Dark« in its entirety at The Sleeping Shaman!

»In The Dark« will be released this Friday, September 9th, 2022 via Small Stone Records.

01. Like Hell
02. Death Tripper
03. Better Living
04. In The Clouds
05. Fever Dreams
06. Body Pillow
07. Leather Jacket
08. White Sand
09. In The Dark
10. Black Tar Mountain
11. East Coast Dreams (Digital Bonus Track)

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Denver heavy rock stalwarts Abrams share their fourth studio album »In The Dark« in full in anticipation of its worldwide release this September 9th on Small Stone Records. Dive into the expansive and addictive vibe of »In The Dark« courtesy of The Sleeping Shaman now!

🔥 Stream new album »In The Dark« at this location 🔥
Watch their latest video for »In The Clouds«!

With ten expansive anthems filled with luscious guitar hooks, brooding leads and earworm melodies, all carried by the powerhouse vocals of Zach Amster and Taylor Iversen, Abrams conjures a mature, polished, and intensely passionate craft, urgent but not at all rushed. Hints of early AmRep get mixed in with the larger sounds of ’90s alt heroes Failure and Quicksand. Combine that with the thunderous heaviness of Mastodon and the melodic post-hardcore-meets-powerpop appeal of Cave In and Torche, and you get »In The Dark«.

Photos by Kim Denver

Recorded and produced by Dave Otero (Khemmis, Cattle Decapitation) and with cover art by Robin Gnista, »In The Dark« will be released worldwide on September 9th through Small Stone Records in limited edition pink vinyl, CD and digital, with preorder available now.

“This is just the best sounding album of the entire year.” – Metal Epidemic

“The band nails this perfectly grungy, sludgy sound with just the right amount of atmosphere and it works so well.” – Metal Injection

“With intense riffs, ornate vocal harmonies and melodies, emotive grooves and a powerfully mature emotional understanding, this album will make you feel intensely and blow you away with the enormity of the sound.” – Distorted Sound Magazine

Abrams new album »In The Dark« out September 9th on Small Stone Records – Pre-order:

Initially seeking to fuse melodic hooks with dissonance, Abrams began in 2013 in Denver, Colorado, with guitarist/vocalist Zach Amster and bassist/vocalist Taylor Iversen. Later joined by drummer Ryan DeWitt, Abrams has released an EP and three studio albums, all to critical acclaim. With each release the listener can hear the band evolving and maturing to what it has become today. A band dedicated to compelling songwriting, and energetic live performances, Abrams ups the ante with the moody, heavy, psychedelic rock venture of their forthcoming LP, »In The Dark«.

Adding Patrick Alberts (Call Of The Void) to the lineup, »In The Dark« serves as Abrams’ first release as a four-piece, following behind 2020’s »Modern Ways«. With the pandemic cancelling all touring plans for Modern Ways, Abrams immediately got to work demoing more than twenty-five plus songs for their next release. Given the world was in lockdown, Amster took a deep dive to learn the ins and outs of home recording to refine song structure, with a hyperfocus put on vocal hooks. There was a goal set to have as complete and polished songs as possible prior to entering the studio in Summer of 2021 with producer, engineer, and collaborator Dave Otero (Khemmis, Cattle Decapitation) at Flatline Audio who was the last piece in shaping the final soundscape.

The new collection is a fine-tuned, forty-five-minute sonic journey detailing the angers, fears, frustrations, and joys inherent in living in a world gone mad. Their new album »In The Dark« features cover art by Robin Gnista and will be available worldwide on September 9th through Small Stone Records.

Abrams is:
Zachary Amster – Guitar, Vocals
Taylor Iversen – Bass, Vocals
Ryan DeWitt – Drums
Patrick Alberts – Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.