Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US melodic doom metal band Deathwhite to reissue their first two EPs »Solitary Martyr« and »Ethereal« on vinyl in January 2023 via Ardua Music

Photo by Shane Mayer

US melodic doom metal band Deathwhite will reissue their first two EPs »Solitary Martyr« (2014) and »Ethereal« (2015) on vinyl in January 2023 via Ardua Music. Both EPs remastered by Dan Swanö at Unisound, now compiled in one single vinyl.

The band comments: “Ardua Music will issue the »Ethereal« and »Solitary Martyr« EPs on vinyl in early 2023. We are, of course, elated by the news. It has long been a wish to have both EPs released on vinyl. We are grateful that David and Ardua Music are doing this for us. The release is limited to 200 copies on white vinyl and includes exclusive liner notes.”

»Solitary Martyr« | »Ethereal« tracklist:
01. Pressure
02. Suffer Abandonment
03. Vain
04. Solitary Martyr
05. Only Imagined
06. Ethereal
07. When I (Wasn’t) You
08. Give Up the Ghost
09. Silenced
10. Feeding The Illusion
11. A Burden To Carry

Courtesy of Ardua Music:

Second vinyl announcement of the week comes from the enigmatic US melodic doom metal combo Deathwhite and the first vinyl release ever of their first two EPs »Solitary Martyr« (2014) and »Ethereal« (2015) in one single record. Remastered exclusively for this release by none other than Dan Swanö at Unisound!

Limited to 200 copies on white vinyl only, it includes insert with liner notes. Pre-orders start this Friday together with Black Friday sale.

Pre-order now at

Formed in 2012 from several holdovers of well-established extreme metal bands, Deathwhite was created as means to explore new avenues for its members. In turn, the band’s sound is heavily influenced by Katatonia, mid-90’s Paradise Lost, Alcest, Ghost Brigade and early Anathema, creating a dark, melodic metal landscape without boundaries. The thread of melody, darkness, and memorable, catchy songwriting is the primary aim of Deathwhite, with lyrics exploring the pitfalls of existence, and organized religion.

The »Ethereal« EP is the band’s first full sonic representation, recorded in the spring of 2014 and only year year later, a follow up EP »Solitary Martyr« was released. It displays a keener sense of depth and versatility than its predecessor. Recorded by Brette Ciammara at Studio 344, the production is more robust, as are the riffs, retaining a feel and flare akin to the bands that were so crucial inspiring Deathwhite in the first place.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.