Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US psychedelic doom/post-metal outfit Slow Wake announce debut full-length album »Falling Fathoms«; out on June 30th via Argonauta Records!

Cleveland, Ohio based psychedelic doom/post-metal outfit Slow Wake is gearing up to release their debut full-length album, »Falling Fathoms«, set to release on June 30th, 2023 via Argonauta Records. Featuring members of Venomin James, Black Spirit Crown, Sparrowmilk, Spellchucker, Constant Source, Reginleif and Yuck Puddle.

Watch a music video for their latest single »Controlled Burn« below!

01. In Waves
02. Controlled Burn
03. Falling Fathoms
04. Relief
05. Black Stars

Courtesy of Grand Sounds PR:

Slow Wake was conceived in Cleveland, Ohio amidst the chaos and turmoil of the Covid pandemic by guitarists Dan Simone (Black Spirit Crown) and Matt Merchant. As the world seemed to collapse around them, the two long-time friends convened to process what they were experiencing by finally starting that band they’d been talking about for years. What emerged from those first few jam sessions was an intriguing blend of styles, Matt’s post-rock/americana and Dan’s stoner doom offering compelling counterpoint to each other in passages that were simultaneously ethereal and psychedelic, yet powerful and cathartic.

The duo were soon joined by bassist Joe Fortunato (Sparrowmilk, Venomin James) and drummer Jeff Larch (Black Spirit Crown, Reginleif) and the riffs did flow. What emerged was a blend of post-rock, doom, heavy psych and outer space that’s been described as “Like staring out into the abyss of Lake Erie at sunset on a few hits of acid as the sun burns the water.” The band hit the ground running with their first show in June of 2021 and proceeded to play relentlessly throughout the region with heavy hitters such as Lo-Pan, Frayle, Telekinetic Yeti, Heavy Temple, Caustic Casanova and Argonauta Records alumni The Lucid Furs, as well as an appearance at the Ohio Doomed and Stoned Fest.

“Slow Wake weaves complex musical imagination with top-notch instrumental work…” (Steve Howe: Outlaws Of The Sun)

Slow Wake is:
Dan Simone – Vocals, Guitars
Matthew Merchant – Guitars
Joe Fortunato – Bass
Jeff Larch – Drums, Backing Vocals

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.