Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US retro rock supergroup Umbilicus release a music video for their new single »Gates Of Neptune«

Florida retro rock supergroup Umbilicus featuring Cannibal Corpse/Deicide members release a music video for the new single »Gates Of Neptune« taken from their upcoming debut album, »Path Of 1000 Suns«, out on September 30h, 2022 via Listenable Insanity Records / Blood Blast Distribution.

Path Of 1000 Suns track-listing:
01. Hello Future
02. Umbilicus
03. Gates Of Neptune
04. I, Human
05. Stump Sponge
06. My Own Tide
07. Life On The Sun
08. The Call
09. Traveler
10. Gathering At The Kuiper Belt

Courtesy of Infecting Cells PR:

New rock band Umbilicus has released their third single, »Gates Of Neptune«, from their upcoming debut album »Path Of 1000 Suns«, with an accompanying video. Fresh onto the scene, the quartet have put their death metal chops aside, and embraced their collective love of 60s and 70s hard rock.

On »Gates Of Neptune«, Nordberg said: “Gates is definitely one of my favorite songs on the album. It’s a pretty simple song, but it says so much and is so incredibly dynamic. It really takes you on a journey. Brian’s vocals are also absolutely beautiful on this track, and really made it go from a neat song to an epic one! Though we made the band to make some classic hard rock, one of the things that made all those old bands so good was because they were able to be dynamic and have a “ballad” track on an album. »Dream On« I rest my case! We hope you all enjoy this song.”

»Path Of 1000 Suns« can be pre-ordered at

»Path Of 1000 Suns« will be out September 30th on Listenable Insanity Records, and was mixed and mastered at Smoke & Mirrors Productions by Taylor Nordberg. The »Gates Of Neptune« music video was edited by Daniel Wahlström at Heavy Groove Media.

Photo by Deidra Kling

The group is comprised of drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz (Cannibal Corpse), guitarist Taylor Nordberg (Deicide, Inhuman Condition, The Absence), bassist Vernon Blake (Anarchus, Napalm Death – live), and vocalist and lyricist Brian Stephenson (Fore, Old James). The instrumentalists grouped together in the summer of 2020, crafting the music for what became »Path Of 1000 Suns« throughout the remainder of the year, then tapping vocalist Stephenson the following year to complete the lineup.

The band’s debut album »Path Of 1000 Suns« is set to be released on September 30h, 2022 on Listenable Insanity Records and can be pre-ordered at

Details regarding international releases will be announced soon.

»Path Of 1000 Suns« was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Taylor Nordberg at Smoke & Mirrors Productions. The artwork for the album was also done by Taylor Nordberg.

Umbilicus is:
Brian Stephenson – Vocals
Paul Mazurkiewicz – Drums
Vernon Blake – Bass
Taylor Nordberg – Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.