Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US stoner/doom metal trio Restless Spirit announce new full-length album »Afterimage« and premiere first single and music video »Marrow«!

Long Island, New York based stoner/doom metal trio Restless Spirit premiere a music video for the first single and opening track »Marrow« taken from their third full-length album, »Afterimage«, set to release on October 6th, 2023 via Magnetic Eye Records.

Video directed by Susan Hunt.

01. Marrow
02. Shadow Command
03. Of Spirit And Form
04. All Furies
05. Brutalized
06. The Fatalist
07. Hell’s Grasp
08. From The Dust Returned

Magnetic Eye Records:

The world may not be ready, but this album is too good to be contained any longer, so it’s time: today we open presales for staggering new album »Afterimage« from Restless Spirit at and our Bandcamp. Kicking things off is blistering first single »Marrow«, available on all digital platforms and with a killer video by Five Sigma Films on our YouTube. Besides being one of the hardest working bands in the heavy underground, Restless Spirit are fusing modern sludge, classic thrash and massive stoner metal in ways that are simply unlike any other band playing today, and we think if you love high-energy, forward-thinking riff-heaviness and pure authenticity, these guys may have made one of your favorite albums of all-time.

Restless Spirit comment: “The opening track »Marrow« truly comes from the heart and sets the theme for the entire album”, guitarist and singer Paul Aloisio writes. “This song is about watching someone that you love at the end of their life. It’s about the bargaining, the pleading, the denial… all those stages of grief. Although the song deals with desperation, it is also an acknowledgement of a bitter truth. We think everyone can relate to this song, because while maybe you haven’t had to experience these feelings yet, reality is, eventually you will. I’ve never had the courage to be so open through my music before, and I won’t lie and say that it wasn’t terrifying to do so. Yet our hope is that it can resonate with anyone struggling through an experience like this.”

Restless Spirit’s third album, »Afterimage«, embodies the East Coast trio’s aim of never wanting to sound exactly like before. Long Island deep-fried guitars meet pounding rhythms and emotionally raw vocals. Where the predecessor »Blood Of The Old Gods« (2021) sometimes ushered the listener into twisted complexity, »Afterimage« delivers short, sharp shocks that hit straight home.

Photo by Josh Richter

Lyrically, »Afterimage« is driven by tragedy and personal loss. Singer and guitarist Paul Aloisio has put his heart and soul into the album. »Afterimage« might well be read as a cautionary tale. Embarking on their musical journey very early in life, Restless Spirit’s core of Aloisio and bassist Marc Morello met the summer before Kindergarten and grew up discovering music side by side. Channelling influences like Black Sabbath, Type O Negative and The Sword and incorporating aggressive modern metal, unabashed stoner-doom pummelling, energetic changes and stirring, earnest vocals, their band was finally christened Restless Spirit in 2019.

Their debut full-length »Lord Of The New Depression« (2019) fit equally well into the stoner, doom, and sludge moulds, while on »Blood Of The Old Gods«, the three-piece developed a more varied, melodic approach with added complexity. On the live front, the Long Island band has undertaken several tours in support of »Blood Of The Old Gods« and shared stages with the likes of Crowbar, The Obsessed, and Cannibal Corpse. With »Afterimage«, Restless Spirit deliver a massive punch to the gut that actually feels damn great once the initial pain subsides.

Pre-order »Afterimage« here:

Restless Spirit is:
Paul Aloisio – Vocals, Guitars
Marc Morello – Bass
Jon Gusman – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.