Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US stoner metal trio Dust Prophet release a visualizer video for their trippy new single »Song 4«

US stoner metal trio Dust Prophet release a visualizer video for trippy new single »Song 4« taken from their upcoming album, »One Last Look Upon The Sky«, due out on January 27th, 2023.

01. A Storm Of Time – Space Part 1
02. When The Axe Falls
03. Dear Mrs. Budd
04. Song 4
05. Put To The Question
06. The High Capital
07. A Storm Of Time – Space Part 2
08. Hourglass
09. Bury Me Before Noon

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

Stoner metal band Dust Prophet have released their trippy new single »Song 4« on all streaming platforms. The track is from their upcoming release »One Last Look Upon The Sky« which is out on January 27th 2022.

The band comments: “»Song 4« is an instrumental piece that was heavily inspired by the band Karma To Burn. Sarah (Wappler, bass & keyboards) wrote the initial pair of riffs that start the song as well as the riffs when it switches to the more up-tempo section.

All of us are into K2B, and before I ended up taking over the vocal duties we seriously considered being an all instrumental band. Personally I love Will Mecum’s guitar playing; that guy is very underrated in my opinion and I wish he had gotten more accolades when he was still alive.

This felt like a nice way to pay our respects to a band that inspired us so deeply. And obviously the title of the song…»Song 4«, is also a reflection of that.”

The Manchester, New Hampshire based outfit was born in 2018. Musically inspired by the likes of Black Sabbath, Kyuss, Electric Wizard, Tool and Clutch, they draw lyrically from classic literary works including the epic poem »Paradise Lost«, Gothic writers Flannery O’Connor, Ray Russell, and apocalyptic Biblical legends. Immersing in an eerie atmosphere, »A Storm Of Time – Space Part 1« begins the album with a foreboding tone. Apocalyptic moods run through the exploration of humanity’s successes and failings across Dust Prophet’s music. Deliciously distorted guitar tones power through »The Axe Falls«, and powerful vocals allude to the oncoming darkness. Sonorous bass notes resonate, bringing an immense sense of power to »Song 4«. Synthesizers and keys weave eerie elements among the heavy instruments and enhance the overall sound. Contrasting the delicate and the hard-hitting, »The High Capital« brings a striking opposition of styles to emphasize the theme of the track. »Bury Me Before Noon« unleashes a bewitching conclusion to »One Last Look Upon The Sky«. From haunting chants and demonic growls, to folk instrumentation and an unceasing gloom, it’s an enchanting experience.

Dust Prophet are taking the stoner and doom scene by storm. Heavy rhythms, dynamic atmospheric composition and powerful execution give »One Last Look Upon The Sky« an epic edge that is sure to appeal to fans across the genre – assuming the world doesn’t end first.

Otto Kinzel – Guitar/Vocals
Sarah Wappler – Bass/Keyboards
Tyler MacPherson – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.