Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

US stoner/sludge/death/doom trio Stoned Morose released their debut EP »Pure Hesher Doom«, available now on all major streaming platforms

Florida stoner/sludge/death/doom trio Stoned Morose has released their debut EP »Pure Hesher Doom« on April 20th, 2023.

»Pure Hesher Doom« EP is available now on all major streaming platforms!

01. (Rise) Om Phoenix
02. Esoterica
03. Cult Of Betrayal
04. Servile
05. Game Over

Album details:

Stoner/sludge/death/doom band Stoned Morose released their highly anticipated debut EP, »Pure Hesher Doom«, on April 20th. Hailing from Florida, the three-piece band consists of veteran and primary songwriter Jay Stoned, drummer Joseph Nicholson, and bassist Matt Flangehand Went.

Stoned Morose’s heavy, hypnotic sound is created by tuning their guitars to double drop A and incorporating ultra-low guttural throat singing. The band’s minimalist approach to songwriting, combined with their emotive lyrics about war, suicide, and overcoming trauma through hallucinogens, make for a truly brutal listening experience.


The EP was recorded at Led Belly Studios in Dawsonville, GA, with Matthew Washburn at the helm, and features artwork by Italian illustrator Montdoom. »Pure Hesher Doom« includes five tracks, including »(Rise) Om Phoenix«, a slam-riff allegory about ascension, and »Esoterica«, a galloping behemoth riff-filled yarn about a psychedelic encounter with a space witch and the aftermath: a dark night of the soul – the EP’s first single, released in February. The album also features »Cult Of Betrayal«, a tough-guy anthem inspired by »Fight Club«, »Servile«, a song about addiction and BDSM, and the epic »Game Over«, a track about the degradation of the planet and the impending global catastrophe.

Stoned Morose’s »Pure Hesher Doom« is a must-listen for fans of heavy metal and hard rock. The EP will be available for purchase and streaming on April 20th.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.