Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Wizard Tattoo to release new single »The Black Mountain Pass« this Friday; debut album »Fables Of The Damned« coming on June 23rd!

US one-man alternative/doom rock band Wizard Tattoo has announced new single »The Black Mountain Pass«, which will be released this Friday, April 21st, 2023.

»The Black Mountain Pass« is the first single taken from the upcoming debut LP, »Fables Of The Damned« releasing on June 23rd. Wizard Tattoo is an Indianapolis, Indiana based rock band by multi-instrumentalist Bram the Bard that summons catchy riffs with progressive and heavy elements.

Bram states this about the new song: “»The Black Mountain Pass« was the first song I wrote after the release of the »Wizard Tattoo« EP. The idea for the song came about while traveling through the Smokey Mountains of Tennessee to visit my father who was ill, and I came up with a fantasized version of the journey for the song while spending hours in the car. Musically, I was inspired by Donovan’s Atlantis and wanted a folk feel to the song like something you’d hear at an Irish pub with a big sing along chorus but with distorted down-tuned guitars and lead harmonies.”

Picking up where the self-titled EP left off, »Fables…« continues the story of a man who gets a tattoo of a wizard and slowly loses his mind–while introducing new characters like the loser of the infamous battle from the previously released »Wizard Knife Fight« and more. Heavier and darker, »Fables…« pulls from doom influences (Conan, SubRosa, Bongripper) with classic rock (Led Zeppelin, Mötley Crüe), as well as a healthy dose of 90s alternative (The Smashing Pumpkins, Alice In Chains, Ministry).

01. Wizard Van
02. The Black Mountain Pass
03. The Vengeful Thulsa Dan
04. Any Which Way But Tuned
05. The Ghost Of Doctor Beast
06. God Damn This Wizard Tattoo
07. Abendrote

Mixed and mastered at Garage Fire Recordings, this album is also accompanied by original artwork, hand-drawn in a horror movie/comic-style, by Bram himself. These original illustrations brings »Fables…« to life in a colorful and imaginative way.

The upcoming LP contains six tales of madness and one instrumental for anyone who dares listen. Get lost in »Fables Of The Damned« and enjoy the ride!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.