Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Yatra unveil the new single »Tyrant Throne« taken from their third full-length album, »All Is Lost«

Maryland-based doom metal trio Yatra unveil the new single »Tyrant Throne« taken from their third full-length album, »All Is Lost«, set to release on October 9th, 2020 via Grimoire Records.

01. All Is Lost
02. Winter’s Dawning
03. Tyrant Throne
04. One For The Mountain
05. Blissful Wizard
06. Talons Of Eagles
07. Eyes Of Light
08. ‘Twas The Night
09. Northern Lights

Dana Helmuth explains: “»Tyrant Throne« was a song that came completely out of my head and fingers. I woke up one morning with the intro melody in my head and turned on my amp, and it honestly all came out in one play, even all the changes, almost like I was remembering a song that I forgotten. Even the first verse lyrics and the chorus lyrics all just came out of my head on that same first run through. It’s a song that reminds me of the same kind of greasy riff as »Sailing On« from our first album »Death Ritual«. The lyrics are all very time sensitive, metaphorically, to things going on in the world now, but also could apply to the Yatra fantasy world of dark versus light and good versus evil. Teach your children to fear no evil.”

From Earsplit PR:

Maryland doom metal trio Yatra prepares to release their damaging third full-length – and second for 2020 – »All Is Lost«, in early October through Grimoire Records. With the record closing in, the new single »Eyes Of Light« is now playing through an exclusive premiere hosted by The Obelisk.

Yatra’s heaviest album to date, »All Is Lost« surges with nine new tracks that bring an enticing new level of quality and cohesiveness to the unit. Heavier and denser, with more vibrant psychedelic poise, »All Is Lost« devastates with nine new tracks that once again place the band into the upper echelons of the genre. »All Is Lost« was captured at Tiny Castle in June, engineered, recorded, mixed, and mastered by Noel Mueller of Grimoire Records, and completed with cover art by Paolo Girardi (Power Trip, Black Breath, Bell Witch).

Upon release of their acclaimed »Death Ritual« debut LP, released in 2018 via Grimoire Records, Yatra immediately found a secure place in the doom metal scene, providing a devastating brew of crushing musicianship backed with an equally potent element of psychedelic prowess, inciting widespread reactions from media and fans alike. The band gigged and toured heavily on the album, while work was underway on their second record, »Blood Of The Night«, which saw release via STB Records in early 2020. Just as the band was primed to peak with a new round of international touring, the COVID-19 pandemic engulfed the globe, and alongside every other touring act worldwide, things came to a stunning halt for the band.

Yatra instantly went into full-on construction of the next phase of their journey, taking the ideas they had for the third album into a fresh dimension of instantaneous new reality. The elements of their third LP, »All Is Lost«, were born, and a new plan was implemented. Once the immediate lockdowns and quarantines of the virus crisis were lifted, the members of the band returned to Grimoire Records, and locked up with label/studio guru Noel Mueller to capture the new songs under the strictest social-distancing-friendly circumstances, to record the new album.

Now in 2020, when touring is one element in a questionable future, Yatra delivers their second album of the year with a monolithic statement of not slowing down. Watch for more on »All Is Lost« to be issued over the weeks ahead.

Yatra is:
Dana Helmuth – Guitars/Vocals
Maria Geisbert – Bass
Sean Lafferty – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.