Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Year Of No Light premiere a music video for their brand new track »Réalgar« exclusively at Roadburn Redux

Year Of No Light are premiering a music video for their brand new track »Réalgar« exclusively at Roadburn Redux. »Réalgar« is taken from the upcoming album, »Consolamentum«, which will be released on July 2nd, 2021 via Pelagic Records, together with a wooden boxset containing the band’s entire discography on 12″ vinyl.

The cover artwork for the new album was done by Stefan Thanneur (Svart Crown, Chaos Echœs, Aleister, Skeletonwitch).

Says the band: “The video was directed by Corentin Schieb, Mathias Averty and Célia Le Goaziou, and was produced by Violent Motion. It is a visual object similar to a short film in terms of the length and structure of the video. It takes the form of a dreamlike stroll around different characters lost between several realities and confronted with their inner demons. Thanks to Pelagic Records and Roadburn Festival for making this possible.”

Year Of No Light formed in 2001 in Bordeaux, France. With their first album, »Nord«, YONL have proven adept a shifting seamlessly between genres, balancing post-rock, sludge, somber psychedelics and crushing dark shoegaze.

In 2010, the band become an instrumental sextet and released its second album, »Ausserwelt« followed by »Tocsin« in 2013, oscillating between drone, doom, post-rock, black metal and progressive music.

Year Of No Light is:
Johan Sébenne – Bass, Electronics
Bertrand Sébenne – Drums, Keyboards
Jérôme Alban – Guitar, Keyboards
Pierre Anouilh – Guitar
Mathieu Mégemont – Drums, Electronics
Shiran Kaïdine – Guitar

From Pelagic Records:

Year Of No Light to sign with Pelagic Records, announce release of new album and 12LP boxset.

Year Of No Light are celebrating their 20th anniversary as a band this year. On the occasion of this, we will be releasing not only their new album »Consolamentum« on July 2nd, but a wooden boxset containing their entire discography of 5 studio albums, several split EPs and the collaboration with Belgian composer Dirk Serries from the »Live At Roadburn« recordings, on 12″ vinyl records.

“The lengthy, sprawling and cinematic compositions of towering walls of guitars and sombre synths of the seminal French 6-piece irradiate a sense of dire solemnity and spiritual gravity. »Consolamentum« is huge, poignant, frightening, sublime, smothering and cathartic – and, much like its predecessor, ‘audacious, memorable and supremely confident’.” – Decibel Magazine

Pre-order for both »Consolamentum« and »Mneme« starts on April 19th at 4 PM, mark your calendars for one of the luminous highlights of the Pelagic year 2021!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.