Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Melvins to release their first ever acoustic album »Five Legged Dog«; listen to acoustic verion of »Night Goat«

Melvins will release their first ever acoustic album, »Five Legged Dog«, clocking in at 2 1/2 hours, spanning the band’s career, plus covers of songs by bands such as The Rolling Stones, Alice Cooper, Redd Kross and more.

»Five Legged Dog« is coming out on October 15th, 2021 (2CD/Digital) and January 28th, 2022 (4LP Colored Vinyl) via Ipecac Recordings.

Listen to acoustic verion of Melvins’ »Night Goat«, originally taken from the band’s major label debut »Houdini«, released in 1993 on Atlantic Records.

From Ipecac Recordings:

The Melvins announce their most ambitious project yet: »Five Legged Dog«, a 36-song newly recorded, acoustic collection featuring a career-spanning collection of songs, from 1987’s »Gluey Porch Treatments« to 2017’s »A Walk With Love & Death«, the entire gamut of the legendary band’s catalogue is represented.

“I knew I wanted to do something ridiculously big,” explains Buzz Osborne of the band’s first ever acoustic offering. “36 songs reimagined by us acoustically is certainly ridiculous but it works. The magic of the songs is still there regardless of it being acoustic. Since we weren’t touring we had the time to do something of this size. I’m very excited about this record. Dale and Steven did a fantastic job on this. I think it’s a very special record. I can’t think of anyone else who’s done something like this.”

Dale Crover noted: “I think people will be surprised that we can do an acoustic version of a song like ‘Night Goat« without losing any of the heaviness. We also worked hard on the vocal arrangements. People are going to freak out!”

»Five Legged Dog« also features acoustic versions of several rarities from the influential band’s overflowing discography including a cover of Redd Kross’ »Charlie« (from the limited-edition »Escape From LA« single), »Outside Chance«, a Turtles’ cover from the »Slithering Slaughter« single and new interpretations of The Rolling Stones »Sway«, Brainiac’s »Flypaper«, and Fred Neil’s »Everybody’s Talking« (popularised by Harry Nilsson). Butthole Surfer Jeff Pinkus lends his vocals (and banjo) to »Don’t Forget to Breathe« and »Everybody’s Talking«.

Photo by Bob Hannam

»Five Legged Dog« track list (with original album/cover info):

• Edgar The Elephant (»A Walk With Love & Death«)
• Up The Dumper (»The Bootlicker«)
• Hung Bunny/Roman Dog Bird (»Lysol«)
• Hooch (»Houdini«)
• Billy Fish (»Nude With Boots«)
• Shevil (»Stoner Witch«)
• Charlie (Redd Kross cover from »Escape From LA« single)
• A Growing Disgust (»Freak Puke«)
• Eye Flys/Woman (»Gluey Porch Treatments« – »Woman« is a Free cover)
• Pitfalls In Serving Warrants (»Honky«)
• Outside Chance (The Turtles cover from »Slithering Slaughter« single)
• Evil New War God (»The Bride Screamed Murder«)
• The Bloated Pope (»Pigs Of The Roman Empire«)
• Bad Move (from Dale Crover’s solo album, »The Fickle Finger Of Fate«)
• With Teeth (»Lysol«)
• Halo Of Flies (Alice Cooper cover from »Sieg Howdy!«)
• Oven (»Ozma«)
• Sway (Rolling Stones cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
• Anaconda (»Bullhead«)
• Lovely Butterfly (»Honky«)
• Boris (»Bullhead«)
• It’s Shoved (»Bullhead«)
• Honey Bucket (»Houdini«)
• We Are Doomed (»The Bulls & The Bees«)
• Flypaper (Brainiac cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
• Let God Be Your Gardener (»Ozma«)
• At The Stake (»Stoner Witch«)
• Night Goat (»Houdini«)
• Queen (»Stoner Witch«)
• Everybody’s Talking (Fred Neil cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
• Revolve (»Stoner Witch«)
• Suicide In Progress (»Nude With Boots«)
• Prig (»The Bootlicker«)
• The Bit (»Stag«)
• Civilized Worm (»(A) Senile Animal«)
• Don’t Forget To Breathe (»Pinkus Abortion Technician«)

Pre-order at

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.