Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian sludge metal/mathcore band THEFALLS presents their new album »Reflections////Void«, available now via Convulse Recordings!

Drammen, Norway based sludge metal/mathcore band THEFALLS has released their new album »Reflections////Void« on September 22nd, 2023 via Convulse Recordings.

Watch a music video for »The Hardest Part Is Over« below! Shot and edited by Lasse A. Haugen.

01. Patterns Emerge (I)
02. Patterns Emerge (II)
03. Nadir (I)
04. Nadir (II)
05. Nadir (III)
06. Seconds
07. The Hardest Part Is Over

THEFALLS strive to excite and excel both lyrically and musically, as displayed on their new release »Reflections////Void«. The four tracks are filled with dense layers of meaning and emotions. They also contain a frequent use of odd time signatures, distinctive song structures and first-class musical craftsmanship.

Nine years after their momentous debut album, THEFALLS are back with new genre-bending music. »Reflections////Void« was released on the 22nd of September. The story unfolds through the album’s four tracks. A narrative exploring the sudden realization of a man’s own inadequacy and self-deception and how it affects his further existence. The band has put absolutely everything into this album. That is why it has taken some time and it is justified by the superior quality of the finished product. Heavy chaotic riffs are followed by lightning fast sections which are transposed into beautiful melodic parts. Regardless, everything sounds unmistakably like THEFALLS.

THEFALLS, hailing from Drammen, has an experimental and exploratory approach to metal. They have found themselves well suited in the space between hardcore, post-metal and sludge, as one of the relatively few bands within the borders of Norway. Thoughts can quickly drift to such greats as Converge, Ion Dissonance and Between The Buried And Me. Nevertheless THEFALLS stands firmly in their own domain. With a strong vision and introspective lyrics, the band treads the fine line between chaos and control in an enticing and unsettling way. A symbiosis that comes across especially well in the band’s intense live performances.

More info:

Music by Lasse A. Haugen.
Lyrics by Kenneth Hestholm, Kristoffer Bakken Erichsen and Mirza Aškraba
Arranged and performed by THEFALLS.
Additional vocals on Nadir by Ivan Hansen from Frostbitt.
Recorded between 11/2019 and 3/2023 at Convulse Studios.
Engineered, mixed and produced by Espen Album Syversen.
Mix assistant Eirik Haddeland Paulsen.
Mastered by Kjetil Ottersen at Vektor Facilities.
Cover Layout and design by Espen Album Syversen.
Artwork finalization for print by Kevin Solheim.

Lasse A. Haugen – Guitar
Kristoffer Bakken Erichsen – Vocals
Espen Album Syversen – Drums
Kenneth Hestholm – Bass / Backing Vocals

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.