Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Patriarchs In Black presents their debut album »Reach For The Scars«, out now worldwide via MDD Records!

Patriarchs In Black presents their debut album, »Reach For The Scars«, which was just released worldwide on July 1st, 2022 via MDD Records.

Patriarchs In Black is the new project formed by guitarist Dan Lorenzo (Hades, Vessel Of Light, Cassius King, ex-Non-Fiction) and drummer Johnny Kelly (Silvertomb, ex-Type O Negative, ex-Danzig)

01. I’m The Dog
02. Sing For The Devil?
03. The Submission Bell
04. Built Of Misery
05. This Damn War
06. Mourning This Life
07. Hate Your Life
08. Demon Of Regret
09. Kashmir

From MDD Records:

All roads lead to Black Sabbath!

When New Jersey scene veteran Dan Lorenzo (Hades, ex-Non-Fiction) was looking for musicians for his new project, Overkill’s Bobby Blitz gave him the idea of knocking on John Kelly’s (Silvertomb, ex-Danzig, ex-Type O Negative) door, because – according to Blitz – “he would fit your riffs perfectly”. Blitz was right and Lorenzo and Kelly, who had never worked together before, formed Patriarchs In Black.

The duo makes no secret of where the musical heart of this collaboration beats – to put it in Kelly’s words: “All roads lead to Black Sabbath!” So on these nine groovy songs there are many dragging riffs, with which homage is paid to the forefathers of doom, on the one hand – and on the other hand such a snotty-rock charm that would also make the album a perfect soundtrack for a remake of »Easy Rider«.

For »Reach For The Scars«, the duo recruited a whole host of guest musicians who each put their own stamp on the songs. On this album, Karl Agell (Lie Heavy, King Hitter, ex-Leadfoot, ex-Corrosion Of Conformity), Dewey Bragg (Kill Devil Hill, ex-Pissing Razors), Rob Traynor (Black Water Rising), John Kosco (Dropbox, Cassius King), Eric J. Morgan (A Pale Horse Named Death), Jimmy Gnecco (Ours), Dan Nastasi (Mucky Pup, ex-Dog Eat Dog, ex-Non-Fiction), Jimmy Schulmann (Hades, Vessel Of Light, Cassius King, ex-Attacker), Scott Lepage (ex-Cassius King, ex-Hades, ex-Mucky Pup) and Dave Neabore (Dog Eat Dog, ex-Mucky Pup), give each song a unique authenticity that makes the overall result an entertaining and varied pleasure.

Order your copy here:

Patriarchs In Black are:
Dan Lorenzo – Guitars
Johnny Kelly – Drums

Karl Agell – Vocals
John Kosco – Vocals
Rob Traynor – Vocals
Dewey Bragg – Vocals
Dan Nastasi – Vocals
Jimmy Gnecco – Vocals
Eric J. Morgan – Bass
Jimmy Schulmann – Bass
Scott Lepage – Bass
Dave Neabore – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “Patriarchs In Black presents their debut album »Reach For The Scars«, out now worldwide via MDD Records!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.