Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

UK’s The Pleasure Dome deliver high intensity punk/grunge on Berlin label Hound Gawd! Records

Bristol, UK based punk grunge trio The Pleasure Dome has released their debut album »Equinox« on October 6th, 2023 via Hound Gawd! Records.

Says the band: “Our debut album »Equinox« is out now on all digital platforms! We hope you like it! Vinyl + CD’s available available in record shops worldwide Friday 6th October 2023 via Hound Gawd! Records!”

01. Pass The Parcel
02. Down The Alley
03. Love Is Dead
04. Vampire Of The Night
05. Psychodrama
06. What A Shame (Cocaine)
07. At Dawn
08. Boiler Room
09. On The Beaches
10. Insane
11. Have You Ever Been In Love
12. Good Luck
13. No Guts No Fame

Courtesy of Fly PR:

October 26, 2023 (Berlin, Germany) – The Pleasure Dome are a high intensity punk grunge trio from Bristol, UK. Their new album titled, »Equinox«, is out now on Berlin garage-punk label Hound Gawd! Records (Zeke, The Cutthroat Brothers, Pat Todd & the Rankoutsiders, Rod Hamdallah, Jim Jones & the Righteous Minds, King Brothers, The Morlocks).

The band’s visceral, cacophonous punk sound pivots to reflective vulnerable moments on the album. “The equinox happens twice a year when the day and night are exactly the same length,” explains frontman Bobby Spender. “It’s the day when winter becomes spring and summer becomes autumn. Pagans celebrate this day and call it Mabon. The song “At Dawn” is where the writing for this album really began. The idea of duality is found in the album title: the dark turning into the light, all or nothing, rough and smooth, love and heartbreak, the calm and the thunder.”

Photo by Josh Wood

Founded in 2019 the band has been actively touring across Europe and the UK playing sets at multiple festivals and clubs. They recently headlined Supersonic in Paris to a capacity crowd that had queued-up around the block to experience their explosive live show. Select footage from that night has been included to video for album track »Insane«. Other video singles from the album include »Good Luck«, »Down The Alley«, and »Love Is Dead« which are collected on the band’s YouTube page HERE.

“This British noise rock band will take you back to the ’90s with their heavy bass lines and grungy guitars,” says Laurent C. at Veglam. The Punk-Rocker observes “One of the standout aspects of »Equinox« is their ability to balance heavy, abrasive, and aggressive riffs with moments of calmness and ethereal ambiance.” Clash Music adds: “»Equinox« kicks off in classic Pleasure Dome fashion with “Pass The Parcel«, a thudding, driven bass guitar leads a crescendo into a thrashy introduction, the trio boasting their knack for controlled chaos straight off of the bat.”

»Equinox« was recorded in Wales in February 2023 at the secluded Mwnci Studios in just over a week. Produced by friend of the band Tom Smith, it was mixed by James Trevascus (Beak, Billy Nomates) and mastered by Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney). Vinyl includes a printed inner sleeve. CD is Digipak format.

The Pleasure Dome is:
Bobby Spender – Vocals, Guitar
Loz Fancourt – Bass, Backing Vocals
Alex “Bert” Elvin – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.