Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Electric Hydra premiere a music video for the new single »It Comes Alive« taken from their self-titled debut album

Swedish heavy rock/stoner punk band Electric Hydra premiere a music video for the new single »It Comes Alive«, coming out tomorrow via Majestic Mountain Records and Tee Pee Records.

»It Comes Alive« is taken from their self-titled debut album that will be released on November 27th, 2020.

“The song »It Comes Alive« was one of the first songs that was written for the album,” said bassist Ellinor Andersson. “Dennis and Jonathan were down in Shimmer studios with the mission to just write songs and after a lot of coffee and some serious talk regarding guitar gear, Dennis started to play the main riff so we continued to mess around and sent a quick demo to Sanne who drafted some lyrics. The song is essentially about what happens when your brain takes you deep into the darkest recesses of your imagination.”

“We’d been checking out locations and came across this company that works with stone and gravel, which appropriately enough lies in the woods close to my home,” added vocalist Sanne Karlsson. “It has this enormous pit which goes as far as the eye can see so it was perfect for doing a music video. We hired a guy called Max Ljungberg who’s a locally based filmmaker. He’s done a ton of videos for a lot of great bands like Horisont and The Dahmers. With his skills behind the lens combined with heavy smoke and fire, the final result turned out great. We also managed to not get burned too, which was a huge bonus. Although afterwards it took some time to get rid of the sand that was literally everywhere! We still have sand in our road cases four months after the shoot.”

Formed on the windswept West Coast of Sweden, amid the dark forests of Småland, Electric Hydra’s founding members – Sanne Karlsson, Ellinor Andersson, Jonathan Möller and Jonny Petterson – first met on an impromptu night in late 2017. In doing so they collectively hit upon a newfound friendship and shared love of Kyuss, Fu Manchu, Entombed and Black Sabbath; and decided there and then to book a rehearsal room the very next day. With Dennis Åhman replacing Petterson on drums, work on their self-titled album begun in early 2020 and continued throughout the COVID-19 pandemic at Shimmer Studios, Studio BO and Welfare Studios. Further reinforced with new recruits in Jonas Stålhammar and Peter Söderberg (Capricorn) following the departure of fellow founder Jonathan Möller, »Electric Hydra« will also feature a contribution from At The Gates/Bombs Of Hades’ Jonas Stålhammar.

As vocalist Sanne Karlsson explains: “We are so psyched to finally release our debut album! The album is expansive and heavy but still raw with a lot of energy. It feels like a step in the right direction to where we want to go with the music.”

Electric Hydra is:
Sanne Karlsson – Vocals
Jonas Stålhammar – Guitar
Peter Söderberg – Guitar
Ellinor Andersson – Bass
Dennis Åhman – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.