Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Bull Elephant offshoot Thūn release »Kiss The Ground« playthrough video from their upcoming second album »II«

International doom/death/traditional metal collective Thūn release a playthrough video for the track »Kiss The Ground« from their second album, »II«, scheduled for release on July 1st, 2022 via Eat Lead And Die Music.

Track Listing:
01. Where All Truths Lie
02. Look To The Sea
03. Kiss The Ground
04. I Have Failed You
05. …Completely
06. Zero Growth
07. Final Cut

Courtesy of ClawHammer PR:

International metal collective Thūn have released a guitar/drum playthrough video for »Kiss The Ground«, a track from forthcoming sophomore album »II«. The video features guitarist Jon Higgs and drummer James Knoerl. The song was inspired by regenerative farming documentary »Kiss The Ground«.

Thūn, featuring Jon Higgs (guitar/vocals) and Hugo Wilkinson (bass) of Monsterworks, alongside James Knoerl (drums, Gargoyl), will release its second album on July 1 via Eat Lead And Die Music. Guest lead guitar was once again smashed out of the park by Karl Sanders of Nile.


The album’s opening track, »Where All Truths Lie«, is streaming now at:

Thūn’s flavor could be described as epic death metal, spiced by discordant doom… smothered with plenty of old school Sabbath and Priest influences.

The narrative concept is Bull Elephant adjacent (an entity also part of the greater Eat Lead and Die Music collective), drawing from the same loosely Lovecraftian mythos but following the present-day adventures of an eco-witch-terrorist, i.e. rather than an undead Nazi-fighting pachyderm.* The enemy is every person or corporation that puts profit before preservation of the natural world. With tentacles.

Thūn is a virtual effort in that each musician, in the UK and US respectively, handled their own recording/production, with final mixing by Jon and dynamic mastering by Damian Herring (Horrendous, Subterranean Watchtower Studios).

A word from the band on the album release format: “The album will initially be available only from Bandcamp as a 24-bit full dynamic range download (or MP3 if you must) with PDF lyric book because, y’know, CDs are obsolete, new vinyl is for posers (the kind of idiot that thinks intentionally degrading an audio signal that came from a digital master in the first place actually sounds better), cassettes are for hipster posers and subscription streaming is for soulless stooges that actively participate in the devaluation of music.”

Album line-Up:
Jon Higgs – Guitar/Vocals
James Knoerl – Drums
Hugo Wilkinson – Bass
Karl Sanders – Lead Guitar

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.