Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

EyeHateGod unveil a new lyric video for the latest single »Built Beneath The Lies«

EyeHateGod unveil a new lyric video for the latest single »Built Beneath The Lies« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »A History Of Nomadic Behavior«, set to release on March 12th, 2021 via Century Media Records. Video by Dave Minall of Cloud Music Typography and EyeHateGod.

Singer Mike IX Williams said of the track: “»Built Beneath The Lies« is another acidic EyeHateGod song playing in the background while the back alleys burn with nervous alcoholic tension and people all over cancel their summer plans to stare at the wall…”

»A History Of Nomadic Behavior« follows a period that saw the New Orleans based band on the road for three years, preceded by Williams suffering liver failure and a transplant. “We toured our asses off for three years and that’s where »A History Of Nomadic Behavior« basically comes from,” adds Williams before touching on his health challenge: “Death is a part of life, it’s a roll of the dice. Sometimes you take life as it comes, other times you fight to stay alive.” The album was produced by EyeHateGod, Sanford Parker (Yob, Voivod) and James Whitten (Thou, High On Fire), with mixing by Whitten. The band recorded at HighTower Recording and Hypercube Studios.

01. Built Beneath The Lies
02. The Outer Banks
03. Fake What’s Yours
04. Three Black Eyes
05. Current Situation
06. High Risk Trigger
07. Anemic Robotic
08. The Day Felt Wrong
09. The Trial Of Johnny Cancer
10. Smoker’s Piece
11. Circle Of Nerves
12. Every Thing, Every Day

About EyeHateGod:

New Orleans’ EyeHateGod is the snarling, bilious sound of dead-end America. Since 1988, they’ve been a soundtrack for the troubled masses. Pitchfork dubbed them the “quintessential Southern sludge band,” Rolling Stone said they are one of “America’s great live bands,” and Thrasher said they are “true musical pioneers in every sense of the word.” Anyone familiar with EyeHateGod’s story knows this is survivor’s music, a sound unto itself where Sabbathian riffs are meted out with a caustic anger that goes beyond punk. That’s been the blueprint since guitarist Jimmy Bower (also of NOLA supergroup, Down) founded the band in 1988 with vocalist Michael IX Williams joining not long after. With a discography including sludge-punk mainstays like »In The Name Of Suffering« (1990), »Take As Needed For Pain« (1993), »Dopesick« (1996), »Confederacy Of Ruined Lives« (2000) and 2014’s eponymously-titled LP, released in the US through Housecore Records, EyeHateGod laid the cracked foundation for their infamous and influential sound. Gary Mader is the band’s bass player, with Aaron Hill on drums.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.