Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

American noise doom trio Body Void presents their fourth album »Atrocity Machine«, out now via Prosthetic Records

American noise doom trio Body Void presents their fourth album, »Atrocity Machine«, which was just released on October 13th, 2023 via Prosthetic Records.

01. Microwave
02. Human Greenhouse
03. Flesh Market
04. Cop Show
05. Divine Violence
06. Atrocity Machine

Courtesy of Prosthetic Records:

New England via Bay Area doom band Body Void share their fourth album »Atrocity Machine«, released via Prosthetic Records on October 13. Body Void has also recently announced two tours to take place in October and November in the US and Canada – full details below.

Stream / order new album »Atrocity Machine« HERE!

Body Void’s morose view of the world hasn’t lightened any since the release of 2021’s critically acclaimed »Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth«, although »Atrocity Machine« embraces absurdity on a new level. The subject matter in hand takes stock of the oppressive systems and societal functions that continually degrade the lives of millions as they passively become a cog in the very machine that subjugates them. Police violence is the thematic centre of the unravelling horror on »Atrocity Machine«, highlighted specifically on the track »Cop Show« which details the commercialisation of fear and violence being turned into a spectacle.

Photo by Skylere Williams

The grotesque reality of living in a capitalist landscape, with the value of human life decreasing daily provides infinite fuel for anxiety and trauma. The lurid tones of modern day news media are the backdrop to an Akira-inspired encounter with divine violence, »Atrocity Machine« offers a cosmic view of living under such systems of oppression. Specifically that the status quo can’t last forever; a self-destructive society will indeed eventually destroy itself.

The suffocating nature of oppression seeps into the sound of »Atrocity Machine« too. Although still a doom band at its core, Body Void in 2023 has expanded to incorporate dexterous layers of synths, samples and noise that makes their industrial-sludge sonic emissions an asphyxiating listening experience. The band credit producer Ben Greenberg (Portrayal Of Guilt, VR Sex, Soft Kill) with bringing their electronic elements into a cohesive sound that embraces heaviness and claustrophobic chaos in equal measure.

Speaking on the new album, Willow Ryan comments: “With this album we wanted to embody the absurdity of living in a country where atrocity is so commonplace that it becomes mundane. How compartmentalizing these horrors day to day takes its toll. How the warped machine-like systems birthed out of capitalism and white supremacy that cause these atrocities become attached to you. They fuse themselves to your skin and bones until you live in grotesque comfort and familiarity with the fear and anxiety they create. All the while being forced to ensure their continued existence.

Musically, we decided to incorporate more harsh electronics, taking influence from some of our favorites like Wolf Eyes, Pharmakon, and Killing Joke to create this doomed cyberpunk horror soundtrack. We’re also thrilled to have Prosthetic Records behind us once again to help us obtain our vision.”

Speaking on the latest single »Human Greenhouse«, Willow Ryan (guitar, bass, synths, vocals) comments: “»Human Greenhouse« is about the inescapable overgrowth of digital capitalism via social media and the internet and its ability to infiltrate our beliefs and influence our actions towards the people around us even when we are fully aware of its toxic hold. I think it’s a perfect opener and might be the catchiest song on the album.”

Artwork is thematically on point – inspired by Tetsuo: The Iron Man (a person becoming a machine) – and created by Ethan Lee McCarthy. Marking a shift from their previously black-and-white-only artwork, »Atrocity Machine« is both visually and sonically drawing a line in the sand, delineating the beginning of a new chapter for Body Void.

Body Void is:
Willow Ryan – Guitar, Synths, Bass, Vocals
Eddie Holgerson – Drums, Percussion
Janys-Iren Faughn – Electronics, Samples

Upcoming Body Void tour dates:

US tour with Uniform
*with Uniform **with Uniform, Pelican and Glassing
25 October – Sinkhole – St. Louis, MO*
26 October – Whittier Bar – Tulsa, OK*
27 October – Rubber Gloves – Dallas, TX**
29 October – Black Magic – Houston, TX*
31 October – Gasa Gasa – New Orleans, LA*
01 November – 529 – Atlanta, GA*
02 November – DRKMTTR – Nashville, TN*
03 November – Static Age – Asheville, NC*
04 November – The Pinhook – Durham, NC*

Headline North American tour
28 November – No Class – Cleveland, OH
29 November – Metro Gallery – Baltimore, MD
30 November – The Runaway – Washington, D.C.
2 December – The Meatlocker – Montclair, NJ
3 December – O’Briens – Boston, MA
4 December – Milk Boy – Philadelphia, PA
5 December – Saint Vitus – Brooklyn, NY
6 December – L’Escogriffe Bar Spectacle – Montreal, QC
7 December – Monarch – Toronto, ON
8 December – Racoon Motel – Davenport, IA
9 December – Beat Kitchen – Chicago, IL
10 December – Black Circle – Indianapolis, IN (matinee show)
11 December – Sanctuary – Detroit, MI
13 December – Geno’s Rock Club – Portland, ME

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.