Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

American occult doom rock quartet SpellBook stream their sophomore album »Deadly Charms«, out now via Cruz Del Sur Music!

York, Pennsylvania based occult doom rock quartet SpellBook is streaming their sophomore album, »Deadly Charms«, out now in digital format! »Deadly Charms« will be released on September 30th (CD/Digital) and October 7th (LP) via Cruz Del Sur Music.

The band comments: “Out now! The response we have gotten from this record already has been overwhelming. Thank you Cruz Del Sur Music and ClawHammer PR for your hard work and helping us get this album into as many ears as possible. Today is the day! »Deadly Charms« is available everywhere you get your music! Let us know what you think of the album and tell your friends about us!”

01. 1928
02. Rehmeyer’s Hollow
03. Goddess
04. Pandemonium
05. Her Spectral Armies
06. The Witch Of Riley Creek
07. Deadly Charms
08. Night Of The Doppelganger
09. Out For Blood

Courtesy of Cruz Del Sur Music:

York, Pennsylvania vintage proto-metal purveyors SpellBook released their sophomore full-length, »Deadly Charms«, on Sept 30 (CD/Digital) and October 7 (LP) via Cruz Del Sur Music.

The follow-up to 2020’s »Magick & Mischief« was recorded in February at Developing Nations in Baltimore, Maryland, with producer/engineer Kevin Bernsten. The album also marks the SpellBook recording debut of their two new guitarists, Les Yarde and Patrick “Patty” Benton.

“The material has new life injected into it while still maintaining the adventurous ’70s hard rock sound we strive for,” says drummer Nick Zinn. “It certainly helped Les and Patty love »Magick & Mischief« and its no-rules approach. Yet, at the same time, »Deadly Charms« does seem a bit more focused. We love how the overall vibe has a more anthemic feel.”

According to Zinn, the lyrical themes on »Deadly Charms« lean much heavier on horror and reality than the fantasy and fiction approach found in »Magick & Mischief«. The David Thiérrée (Behemoth, Mortiis, Ihsahn) created artwork capably showcases these topics.

“The cover depicts an open spell book spewing forth witches, devils and other ghastly things,” notes Zinn. “These are all subject matters within »Deadly Charms« songs. We’ve been fortunate to work with so many great artists over the years on different albums dating back to our Witch Hazel days and enjoy the excitement of a new artist on each project we do.”

»Magick & Mischief« was released in the thick of the global pandemic. While it put a premature end to the band’s touring plans, it immediately cultivated a feverish critical following. Teeth Of The Divine called it “one of the best and most original heavy metal albums that seems like it was recorded in the ’70s and just received an updated remastering.” At the same time, Toilet Ov Hell noted, “This record is stuffed to bursting with hooky, moody riffs, stuffed like a filing cabinet full of promising leads.”

The run-up to the release of »Deadly Charms« will find SpellBook busy with a myriad of projects – including some much-desired plans to hit the road.

“We are working on shooting videos for a few songs off the record,” says Zinn. “Once the album is released, we really want to tour this time around. This new lineup has been gigging for a little while now and is eager to play these new songs anywhere and everywhere we can.”

Pre-order LP:
Pre-order CD:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.