Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Deafheaven annouces their new album »Infinite Granite«; stream the first single »Great Mass Of Color«

American post-metal/shoegaze band Deafheaven stream visualizer for the first single »Great Mass Of Color« taken from the upcoming album, »Infinite Granite«, out on August 20th, 2021 via Sargent House.

Visualizer, art direction and design created by Nick Steinhardt.

01. Shellstar
02. In Blur
03. Great Mass Of Color
04. Neptune Raining Diamonds
05. Lament For Wasps
06. Villain
07. The Gnashing
08. Other Language
09. Mombasa

From Sargent House:

For the past ten years, the seminal San Francisco band Deafheaven has been driven by evolution and innovation within themselves and their respective genres. With their forthcoming album »Infinite Granite«, available August 20th via Sargent House, they’ve taken another giant leap forward. With production from Justin Meldal-Johnsen, known for his stellar work with M83, Wolf Alice, Paramore, Metric, among others, Deafheaven embarks on a new chapter of defiant beauty. The album’s first single, »Great Mass Of Color«, pairs sparse, hushed verses with roaring technicolor choruses – a song where their mastery over the relationship between tension and release is on full display.

Across the album, vocalist George Clarke showcases a startling vocal range; falsettos, whispers, multi-part harmonies, and other adventurous vocal treatments, with his trademark black metal-inspired howls mostly absent. Guitarists Kerry McCoy and Shiv Mehra expand their sonic palette to include synth textures using them to enrich their astral guitar work rather than outright replace it. Drummer Daniel Tracy has always been a force to reckon with behind the kit, but where he used to floor audiences with his speed and stamina, he’s now free to broaden his approach and lay down authoritative drum patterns that together with bassist Christopher Johnson’s punchy bass lines anchor the band’s lofty arrangements. Ultimately, »Infinite Granite« is Deafheaven’s most goosebump-inducing album to date.

Jack Shirley, who recorded all the previous Deafheaven albums, remained on board to engineer part of »Infinite Granite« at his Atomic Garden East studio in Oakland, CA with additional engineering and mixing coming from nine-time Grammy Award winner Darrell Thorp (Foo Fighters, Radiohead, Beck).


Deafheaven is:
George Clarke – Vocals
Kerry McCoy – Guitar
Shiv Mehra – Guitar
Daniel Tracy – Drums
Chris Johnson – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.