Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Soothsayer stream their debut full-length album, »Echoes Of The Earth«, out now via Transcending Obscurity Records

Cork, Ireland based atmospheric doom/sludge metal band Soothsayer stream their debut full-length album, »Echoes Of The Earth«, out on April 9th, 2021 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

01. Fringe
02. Outer Fringe
03. War Of The Doves (feat. Eugene Robinson)
04. Cities Of Smoke
05. Six Of Nothing (feat. Paul Catten & Ralf Garcia)
06. True North (feat. Dave Ingram)

From Transcending Obscurity Records:

Irish doom/sludge band Soothsayer released a gem of an EP a few years back but nothing could’ve prepared us for this powerful, monolithic album which happens to be their debut full-length. Somehow they have retained the emotionally-charged atmosphere while adding next level intensity to their music. It is now pulsating with raw, irrepressible energy which is almost bursting through the music, echoed by a truly harrowing performance by the vocalist. The sentiments of frustration, rage and despair come through because of the systematic and apathetic destruction of nature, and it has had enough and is now lashing back at all of us. This album captures this feeling perfectly using an organic sound, eschewing the use of paint brushes to create the artwork with fallen leaves, and most importantly, channeling the chaos surrounding us all into pure sonic catharsis in a manner that this genre can barely contain. This is one of the most emotive and turbulent albums in the realm of doom/sludge metal while being consistently plaintive, angry and evocative at the same time.

Soothsayer is:
Líam Hughes – Voices, Soundscapes
Con Doyle – Guitars, Voices
Marc O’Grady – Guitars
Pavol Rosa – Bass
Sean Breen – Drums

Additional chanting on »Outer Fringe« by Pavol Rosa and Sean Breen.
Additional lyrics and vocals on »War Of The Doves« written by Eugene Robinson (Oxbow).
Additional vocals on »Six Of Nothing« by Paul Catten (ex-Stampin’ Ground, ex-Medulla Nocte, ex-Lazarus Blackstar).
Additional chanting on »Six Of Nothing« by Ralf Garcia (Wolf Counsel, Requiem, Poltergeist).
Additional vocals on »True North« by Dave Ingram (Benediction, ex-Bolt Thrower, ex-Hail Of Bullets).


Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.