Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Besvärjelsen drops a music video for their cover of AC/DC classic »Back In Black« from the upcoming tribute album »Back In Black [Redux]«

Swedish psychedelic stoner/doom metal band Besvärjelsen drops a music video for their cover of AC/DC classic »Back In Black«. The track is taken from the upcoming tribute album, »Back In Black [Redux]«, set to release on December 3rd, 2021 via Magnetic Eye Records.

“How do you pay homage to one of the most iconic songs of all time while still being true to yourselves as a band? Our own magnificent Swedish forest-doomsters Besvärjelsen took on that challenge, and we think they succeeded beyond all expectations! Today we present their take on the insurmountable classic »Back In Black« in video form, taken (of course) from our upcoming »Back In Black [Redux]« release. There’s no way to improve on the original, but these guys have our highest respect for what they’ve created. Besvärjelsen… We salute you!” — Magnetic Eye Records

Singer Lea Amling Alazam comments: “A boyfriend gave me a »Let There Be Rock« CD when I was 15 years old and I got immediately hooked. I longed to see AC/DC live, and in 2009 they were set to play in Stockholm. I sat on my skateboard outside the ticket venue for 12 hours in the shittiest weather just to get a ticket. The show was amazing, one of the best evenings in my life. Front row headbanger! When I found out that we were going to cover »Back In Black«, I wanted to cry, both happy and sad tears. Such an iconic, amazing rock song, and I’ve ruined it many times at karaoke. The thought of having to record it and not living up to… well, how do you even do it? I wanted to honour Brian’s bluesy vocal with a rusty stoned vibe and yeah, I don’t know, it turned out freakin’ great!”

Guitarist and vocalist Staffan Stensland Vinrot adds: “I listened to the »Dirty Deeds« album around the age of 8 and liked it, even though I had no idea what the lyrics were about. Then I got into heavier music and thought AC/DC were for old farts. I remember a local guitar player that I looked up to telling me when I was around 12 years old that AC/DC was some of the heaviest shit around, and I did not understand how he could even think that. He told me, ‘you’ll understand when you’re a little older’. Turns out, he was mostly right. It was a bit unsettling to be given »Back In Black« as this song is one of their most iconic ones. We all kind of agreed that if we were to do this, we had to push the limits and stamp our mark on it. We did not fancy to just sound like the original but worse.”

Besvärjelsen is:
Lea Amling Alazam – Vocals
Staffan Stensland Vinrot – Guitars, Vocals
Andreas Baier – Guitars, Vocals
Erik Bäckwall – Drums
Johan Rockner – Bass

From Magnetic Eye Records:

»Back In Black [Redux]« presents new takes on all ten cuts from AC/DC’s seminal seventh album. This was the first record to feature “new” singer Brian Johnson following the death of original larger-than-life frontman Bon Scott, and music historians agree that there was massive pressure on both the new singer and the band to deliver. Even so, nobody could have anticipated that they’d create one of the most important rock albums ever, and Magnetic Eye cannot wait to present what many favorites from the stoner, doom, and riff-rock scene have done with some of the most iconic rock songs of all time.

Alongside »Back In Black [Redux]«, Magnetic Eye Records publishes a by now traditional companion album containing even more amazing cover versions under the title »Best of AC/DC«. This 2-LP extravaganza features 13 bands offering their exciting renditions of all-time classics and deep cuts from across the AC/DC catalog. Fielding an array of heavyweights and hungry up-and-comers from the heavy rock underground, there should be no doubt that fans of the riff-heavy will be stoked to experience these massive AC/DC interpretations unlike any that they’ve heard before.

The Magnetic Eye [Redux] Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal, re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish by bands we love. Choice artists from throughout the rock and metal world are tasked to select a track to make their own, translating a milestone record into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, Magnetic Eye Records have published [Redux] versions of Pink Floyd’s »The Wall«, Helmet’s »Meantime«, Black Sabbath’s »Vol. 4«, Hendrix’s »Electric Ladyland«, and Alice In Chains’ »Dirt«, which have included artists like Matt Pike, Pallbearer, The Melvins, All Them Witches, Khemmis, ASG, Zakk Wylde, Mark Lanegan, Scott Reeder, and many more mind-blowing artists.

Join a host of heavy rocking bands on the sixth foray into Redux territory as they pay due respect to the giant musical legend from Down Under!

01. Red Fang – Hells Bells
02. Howling Giant feat. Udo Dirkschneider – Shoot To Thrill
03. Supersuckers – What Do You Do For Money Honey
04. Smoking Lightning – Givin The Dog A Bone
05. Heavy Temple feat. Valient Himself – Let Me Put My Love Into You
06. Besvärjelsen – Back In Black
07. Jakethehawk feat. Patrick Waters – You Shook Me All Night Long
08. Whores. feat. Bill Kelliher – Have A Drink On Me
09. Early Man – Shake A Leg
10. Earthride – Rock And Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.