Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Count Raven’s sixth full-length album »The Sixth Storm« out today via I Hate Records

Swedish doom metal masters Count Raven have released their sixth full-length album, »The Sixth Storm«, today, October 29th, 2021 via I Hate Records.

01. Blood Pope
02. The Curse
03. The Nephilims
04. Heaven’s Door
05. The Ending
06. The Giver And The Taker
07. Baltic Storm
08. Oden
09. Goodbye

The band comments: “The 12-year wait is finally over!

Today, »The Sixth Storm« is officially released via I Hate Records. We are extremely proud of our sixth album and can’t wait to share it with you.

Reviews and feedback so far have been positive, and we’re truly grateful for your loyalty and support.

Pick up a signed CD and cassette tape (red or black, limited numbers left) directly from us – send us a PM or email:

We also have exclusive album T-shirts (»The Sixth Storm« / »Mammons War«) and a reprinted classic Count Raven design (selling fast!), available individually or in bundle deals. Sizes and prices are shown on the attached photos.

Keep an eye out for »The Sixth Storm« vinyl release that is expected around March-April 2022. We also have a limited number of the 2018 reissued vinyls left.

A message from Dan: ‘Thank you for all the positive feedback so far. I never take these things for granted, so I am humbled. I bow my head for you. Thank you.’”

Twelve years might seem like an unusually long time to hibernate. Then again, Sweden’s doom legends Count Raven is one of those rare few bands with absolutely nothing left to prove.

In their early beginnings, Count Raven released not one or two but three bonafide doom classics in as many years. Really, either of »Storm Warning« (1990), »Destruction Of The Void« (1992) or »High On Infinity« (1993) is as fine an example as you can find of that crushing, Sabbathian traditional doom – which at the time was spearheaded by the Swedes, alongside the bands of the Maryland doom scene.

Count Raven also solidified their status with one of the most spectacular comeback albums in doom, 2009’s »Mammons War«. With such a track record, it had better be worth it if the raven is to spread its wings and grace gray autumn skies again, right?

Despite some personnel changes around guitarist/singer Dan Fondelius, the new outing »The Sixth Storm« bears all the trademarks of a band that knows exactly what it is and where it comes from. Had Count Raven not been a band so typically not prone to cliches, “Well worth the wait” would have been an apt album title.

The vinyl version (double LP, gatefold) of »The Sixth Storm« is set for the earlier parts of 2022. By then I Hate will also re-release their album »Mammons War« on double LP and gatefold, as well. Vinyl release dates to be announced when possible.

Count Raven is:
Dan “Fodde” Fondelius – Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Samuel Cornelsen – Bass
Jens Bock – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “Count Raven’s sixth full-length album »The Sixth Storm« out today via I Hate Records

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.