Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Germany’s Tetrao Urogallus released sophomore album »Gulo Gulo« via Sulatron Records / Waterfall Records

Hamburg, Germany based proto-metal/psychedelic/doom/funk duo Tetrao Urogallus has released their sophomore album »Gulo Gulo« on April 14th, 2023 via Sulatron Records. Digital release is handeled by Waterfall Records.

Says the band: “New album »Gulo Gulo« out now! On our second album the brave Woodgrouse meets his archenemy the mighty Wolverine aka as Gulo Gulo and he is up to no good! Get the limited edition vinyl at Sulatron Records or use this link!”

01. Gulo Gulo
02. Aurora
03. Lupus
04. Regnum Umbrarum
05. Corvus Corax
06. Vetus Imperium I (Psychotria Viridis)
07. Vetus Imperium II (Ultimum Occasum)
08. Vetus Imperium III (Occorsus Nocturnus)
09. Vetus Imperium IV (Paludis Deus)
10. Vetus Imperium V (Vetus Imperium Aeternum)

Courtesy of Sulatron Records:

Sulatron is happy to release the second album by this great band from Hamburg, Germany!

This album might deal with the fight between Tetrao Urogallus (Capercaillie) and Gulo Gulo (Wolverine) in a dark, spooky thunderstorm night in the woods. Fog, rain, lightning strikes, tension.

This musical journey between proto-metal, psych and doom-funk leads the listener directly into this dramatic environment.

Dennis Rux (guitar, production) and David Nesselhauf (bass) recorded their second album in the temporary Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Studios in Hamburg (the usual studiospace was destroyed two times in the past. One time thru flood and the second time thru a huge explosion in the building) where they recorded their debut. Along their sideprojects Angels of Libra (Sweet Soul) and Hamburg Spinners (Hammond Groove) the musicians can celebrate their love for vintage metal and doomy funk with Tetrao Urogallus.

Photo by Marie Freud

Together with Mark Norton (sax), Jan Schepmann (trumpet), Chris Haertel (philicorda, Moog) and Corneel Canters (drums) they recorded a very unique instrumental album full of fuzzy guitars, slow beats, ethereal organsounds, funky brass lines, space echoes and unexpected changes.

Recorded by Dennis Rux at Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Studios.
Mastered by Doug Krebs Mastering.
Video by Jens Vetter.
Album artwork by Ben Jones Nickel.

Order your copy here:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.