Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Lost Tribes Of The Moon unveil the third single »The Way Station« taken from their sophomore album »Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair«

US progressive doom metal band Lost Tribes Of The Moon premiere the third and final single »The Way Station« taken from their sophomore album »Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair« exclusively on Ghost Cult Magazine.

»Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair« will be self-released on March 25th, 2022.

01. Intro – Midian Rising
02. Unleash The Berserkers
03. A Chapter From The Book Of Blood
04. Maerlyn’s Grapefruit
05. The Man In Black Fled Across The Desert – Part 1
06. The Man In Black Fled Across The Desert – Part 2
07. The Way Station
08. The Drawing Of The Three – The Tale Of Enepsigos:
Part 1: Waxing Moon
Part 2: Full Moon
Part 3: New Moon

Courtesy of ClawHammer PR:

Milwaukee (WI) – Lost Tribes Of The Moon have premiered a colossal new track from forthcoming album »Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair«. Stream Ghost Cult Magazine’s exclusive premiere of »The Way Station« at the following link!

»The Way Station« is the final single to be presented before the album’s release later this month. This instrumental song was selected to showcase the diversity within the instrumentation and compositional forms that the band possesses. Inspired by Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, this song features acoustic guitars, upright bass, percussion and vibraphones to give the listener an auditory landscape to the story of a traveler on a long quest through vast desert lands.

Lost Tribes Of The Moon proudly make their return as they finally unveil their much anticipated sophomore album, »Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair«. The album will be self-released on March 25.

The band previously released two singles from the forthcoming album: »Unleash The Berserkers« and »A Chapter From The Book Of Blood«.

»Chapter II: Tales Of Strife, Destiny, And Despair« is a vast and dense musical journey that spans over 75 minutes and showcases the evolution of the band from the time since their debut effort. Picking up from where they left off and taking giant steps beyond, Lost Tribes Of The Moon have expanded their musical borders and universe tenfold with the new album.

Eight tracks are tied together like chapters from a book to make up what tells the musical tales on this album. Themes for these songs are inspired by Stephen King’s The Dark Tower and Clive Barker’s Books Of Blood, as well as previously explored territorial themes such as demonology and mythology. The familiar elements of doom, prog rock, NWOBHM, black metal, and folk have all returned, but this time these styles get further explored and displayed as a more unique and matured sound within the compositions.

An extended amount of synthesizers, theremin and acoustic instruments are woven into the music along with vibraphones, gongs and other percussive instruments to add to the complexity of this new sound. Featuring new members Julie Brandenburg on vocals and bassist Chris Ortiz, this bolstered lineup displays an extensive array of talent and instrumentation on this latest album to deliver to the listener something truly unique while taking them along for an exciting musical ride!


Album credits:
Jon Liedtke – Electric guitars, 6 and 12 string acoustic and nylon acoustic guitars, mandolin, synthesizers, theremin
Julie Brandenburg – vocals
Jeremiah Messner – drums, percussion, wood blocks
Chris Ortiz – bass

Guest performances:
Carl Storniolo – gongs
Mike Numeyer – vibraphones
Mike Secklin – upright bass
Jack Sharon – bougarabou

Recorded at Howl Street Recordings by Shane Hochstetler between July 2020 and March 2021.
Vocals recorded at Be Sound Music by Julie Brandenburg.
Synthesizers and theremin recorded in the Tribes Den by Jon Liedtke.
Mixed by Shane Hochstetler and LTOTM.
Mastered by James Plotkin.
Artwork by Jaems Murphy.
Layout designs by Ron Blemberg.
Band logo by Carl Steinhagen.
LTOTM sigil by Ben Wright.

Band members:

This Ka-Tet was founded in late 2015 by Jon Liedtke, a veteran guitarist and musician from Milwaukee, WI. Jon is probably most recognized nationally and internationally as the theremin player for Relapse Records recording artists Inter Arma. His multi instrumental skills landed him in a working relationship with the Richmond, VA band and has appeared on their albums The Cavern and Paradise Gallows. Jon has also played noteworthy festivals with them such as Adult Swim Fest, Psycho Fest, Maryland Death Fest, and Roadburn Festival, as well as a 2018 European tour as direct support for the band Deafheaven. Jon has spent most of his local Milwaukee career as a lead guitarist for previous metal bands such as Shroud Of Despondency, Face Of Ruin, Ara, and Toby Wong. He also has his own ambient synthwave project Cannabinol Synapse, as well as his solo blues project called Midnight Liedtke. As the primary composer and ringleader of the band, Jon combines his college music degree skills along with his veteran experience as a performing musician as well as his passion for music to create the sounds of Lost Tribes Of The Moon.

Jeremiah Messner plays drums in LTOTM and is the second longest tenured member in the band. Raised in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, Jeremiah is a veteran of the Milwaukee underground music scene and has played with a who’s who of black metal bands including Cold Beyond, Shroud Of Despondency (where him and Jon Liedtke met) and Owl’s Cry. He also has his own experimental noise projects Hallow Hecatomb and Temper. As a performing drummer for over 20 years and well versed in the aforementioned influential genres for this band, his drumming style is the perfect complement to the feel for each of their songs.

Julie Brandenburg is the newest vocalist for LTOTM. She joined in late 2019 and brings along her sophisticated voice and vast musical experience to the band. She is a vocalist, pianist, songwriter, and composer and has performed and recorded in the Midwest for years. Her voice has been described as “soaring” by Billboard Magazine. Julie and Jon first met while he attended the music program at M.A.T.C. college in Milwaukee, where Julie was a voice, piano, and choir teacher. She also has a solo career of her own, with a new album due later this year. Julie seeks to engage people with her music: “Artists have the responsibility of interpreting the feelings and circumstances of our unique time together on this planet, and offering connection and inspiration to listeners.”

Chris Ortiz rages the bass for LTOTM. Joining in 2020 to take on the massive duties of providing bass parts for the newest album, Chris has since settled into the Tribes and now resides with them as their newest member. He is a heavily seasoned veteran of the Milwaukee music scene for 30 years, and has provided bass (and vocals) for a very long list of bands including Speedfreaks, Volcanoes, El Gordo, Xolotl, and Motivo Loco. He fronts his own band Magnetic Minds as bassist and lead vocalist and plays a bitchin’ Geezer Butler in a Black Sabbath cover band called Hand Of Doom!

Jon Liedtke – Guitar
Jeremiah Messner – Drums
Julie Brandenburg – Vocals
Chris Ortiz – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.