Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Swedish post-metal outfit Orochen to release debut concept album »Anthroposcenic«; watch a music video for »Teeth Of Glass«

Gothenburg, Sweden based post-metal/neo-folk outfit Orochen has unveiled a music video for the new single »Teeth Of Glass« taken from their upcoming debut concept album, »Anthroposcenic«, set to release on May 27th, 2022 via Suicide Records.

01. Black Snow
02. Gathering Storms
03. Iron Gates
04. Convalescence
05. Teeth Of Glass
06. House Of Bones
07. A Different Sun
08. Rat King

Courtesy of Sheltered Life PR:

Gothenburg politicos/post-metallers Orochen return with debut album on Suicide Records!

New single »Teeth Of Glass« is out on streaming services worldwide today! Watch the official video for the single, exclusively on New Noise Magazine here!

Taking their name from an ethnic minority group indigenous to Northern China, Orochen are more than just a band, they are a political collective harnessing the power of music as a means to achieve a just and right end.

Chiefly preoccupied with the way societies and environments across the world are harvested as economic resources, the Gothenburg post-metal quartet have consistently set out to investigate the conflicts of living a modern life, trapped inside a fiercely capitalist system. A theme which is strongly evident in their haunting and poetic new single, »Teeth Of Glass«.

As vocalist, Jonas Mattsson, explains: “The scenario in the song comes from a nightmare where objects and emotions have their own souls and come to life, in a heavily distorted reality. The song portrays the descent deeper and deeper into an internal ocean where guilt and shame take the form of different creatures.”

Since the release of their critically acclaimed »Thylacine« EP last year, the band locked themselves away during the pandemic spring of 2021 to work on new material for their debut long player, »Anthroposcenic«.

Officially released this May, »Anthroposcenic« threatens a return to the dark overtures, tribal post-metal, and dense apocalyptic vistas of their previous releases, and also finds the band joining forces with a team of renowned photographers, artists and collaborators, to help embolden their message further.

“We’re truly honoured that Orochen wants to continue their journey with us,” explains Roger Andersson, co-conspirator and CEO of fellow Gothenburg institution, Suicide Records. “With their last EP they really showed everyone that they are a force to be reckoned with, and a dark one at that.”

»Anthroposcenic« by Orochen will be released 27th May 2022 and can be pre-ordered HERE.

With deeply poetic, evocative lyrics against a soundscape that blends elements of dark folk, post-rock, and black metal, »Anthroposcenic« meets the sadness of the dystopia we’re building with a steady gaze.

Over the course of 8 songs, »Anthroposcenic« tells the story of a world plunging further into individualism, isolationism, and consumerism, where the few who attempt to do things for the greater good eventually get trapped in the viscoid webs of the capitalist machine. The album deals with questions about humankind’s existence, our moral compass, how we live in relation to the environment and the psychological effects of living in a consumption-first society.

The title of the album, »Anthroposcenic«, is a call to contemplation about our current state of affairs. It has been suggested that the very last part of the current geological period should be called Anthropocene due to humankinds extensive impact on Earth’s ecosystems and geology.

But Orochen is not stopping at sound. To amplify the messages of the album, the band has collaborated with four celebrated Swedish photographers – Pelle Ossler, Johannes Berner, Niklas Lövgren & Christian Thunarf – to pair an original image or “scene” with each song.

The album will be released in the form of 300 exclusive, hand-numbered copies on transparent vinyl where all of the artwork will be printed on inner sleeves and inserts, making it possible to choose the preferred cover through a slide-in window on the front cover.

»Anthroposcenic« is a natural musical development from Orochen’s latest EP, »Thylacine«, and explores some new terrain while maintaining the band’s emerging trademarks. On the album, you will hear some guest performances from Jonas Stålhammar (At The Gates) on mellotron and Nine (Wormwood) on vocals.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.