Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Swedish psych doom act Cavern Deep stream their new concept album »Part II – Breach« in its entirety; out now via Bonebag Records!

Umeå, Sweden based psych doom trio Cavern Deep stream their sophomore album, »Part II – Breach« in its entirety. »Part II – Breach« was just released this Friday, July 14th, 2023 through the band’s own label Bonebag Records.

01. Breach
02. Primordial Basin (feat. Susie McMullan)
03. A World Bereaved
04. Skeletal Wastes (feat. Johannes Behndig)
05. Sea Of Rust
06. The Pulse (feat. Susie McMullan)

Courtesy of Infecting Cells PR:

Cavern Deeps new record »Part II – Breach« is out now on all platforms. CD and Vinyl are distributed by Bonebag Records and is available now.

»Breach« is Cavern Deep’s second album. It is, just as the first album a concept album which follows the story of the first. The synopsis is as follows:

1. Breach
The archaeologist is no more. Engulfed. As the ungodly withering sentinel feasts on his flesh and mind, something is opening. Picked up by a violent current, the bare essence of the man is plunged through the strange spaces in between worlds. It is reshaped. Traveling in its primal form with the monstrous being as a conduit. Its heart is blank. Mind is void.

2. Primordial Basin
She is watching patiently. The engineer. The last of its kind. The theft of this essence from the otherworldy refuge was the final attempt. Embedded in the being below her is the code. Her design. Her revenge. Deep down in the basin, the putrid water stirs as the being breaks free from its membranous nursery. The engineer watches in silent triumph from afar as the being destroys everything in its path in blind newborn rage. Wading through the festering amniotic fluid it is pulled by an inner voice to the east.

3. A World Bereaved
No more memories of its earlier existence than glitching, flickering images. Like waking up from distant clouded nightmares. Skin is thin, sore, still growing as it lumbers through desolate landscapes. No signs of life to be seen. The ground is torn by sickly pulsating spirals, shooting up in the thick clouds above. Passing former displays of architectural grandeur; now caved in like hollow skulls. A sense of purpose is shaping inside as it finds its paths through the wasteland.

4. Skeletal Wastes
Before it, an ancient war ground. It is vast and dreadful to behold. The last big battle of a dying civilization. The last gasping breath. The being makes its way through labyrinths of giant dead abominations and remnants of war machines since long put to sleep. Picking up pace. Slowly burning from inside with an ever-growing sense of meaning. It is the final solution. The retaliation of many. The faint glow in its veins extends to a cord. The hovering placenta is feeding it in a steady rhythm, preparing the being for its passing.

5. Sea Of Rust
The Sea. Dead. Acidic. This is ground zero. It knows all. It was here above the greatest of cities they broke through. Drawn by the greed of kings and queens and their ever-growing thirst for the primal energy beyond their realm. It was they who forced the few remaining to take refuge in a distant cold world, destined to wither away in subterranean darkness. Everything is lost. Sunken. All but rust. The engineer gives up a sigh as she from afar witness the being floating above the red watery mass towards the pulsating rift at the horizon. It is starting to shed.

6. The Pulse
This is it. The release. The soothing of the inner ache. The organic matter is peeled off layer by layer as the being passes the rift. The glowing orb withers away and sinks into the sea. The pulsating passage lays bare. It is liquid. Lethal. Bodiless. It is ready. They are doomed.

The album recently premiered via The Obelisk and can be found here!

Cavern Deep is a slow, heavy band, founded 2019, by members from Zonaria and Swedish retro riffsters Gudars Skymning. The band released its first self-titled concept album through Interstellar Smoke Records to critical aclaim topping on #7 on The Doom Charts.

The second album is called »Part II – Breach« and is a continuation on the concept of the first album and features Susie McMullan of Brume, Johannes Behndig of Sarcophagus Now and Thomas V Jäger of Monolord (on the bonus track). Pre-orders for the vinyl and the Digipack CD are now available through Bonebag Records and the Cavern Deep Bandcamp.

All music and lyrics was made by Cavern Deep, Thomas V Jäger, Susie McMullan and Johannes Behndig. Engineering, mixing and mastering was done by Max Malmer at Malmer Productions with recording and help from Billy Anderson.

Cavern Deep is:
Kenny-Oswald Duvfenberg – Guitars and Vocals
Max Malmer – Bass and Vocals
Dennis Sjödin – Drums, Backup Vocals and Keys

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.