Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Dark folk/post-industrial act The Infinity Ring stream their debut album »Nemesis & Nativity«, out now via Profound Lore Records

Boston, Massachusetts based dark folk/post-industrial act The Infinity Ring stream their debut album, »Nemesis & Nativity«, which was just released on April 14th, 2023 via Profound Lore Records.

01. Crown Of Stars
02. Temptress
03. The Valley
04. Tiferet II
05. Pan & Syrinx
06. Gift Of Life
07. Orpheus Dragonfly Satyr
08. Lazarus Millennium Sun
09. Wax & Oil
10. Prison, Constraint
11. Nemesis & Nativity

Courtesy of Earsplit PR:

New England-based avant post-industrial collective The Infinity Ring unleash their »Nemesis & Nativity« full-length debut on April 14th via Profound Lore Records.

An undertaking spawned by Cameron Moretti in the Summer of 2020, The Infinity Ring draws together many musicians long active within the New England metal, punk, and electronic scenes. What initially began as an investigative take on dark folk music with added elements of drone and noise, morphed into an alchemical fusion of experimental rock with many disparate strains from the post-industrial continuum, all delivered with a spiritual and mystic bent. »Nemesis & Nativity«’s sonic output sits at the crossroads of a variety of genres including ominous folk, no wave, industrial, and black metal, with elements of occult and ethereal antiquarian sonics laced throughout. The album is completed with cover art by MFAXII.

Photo by Chris Vigue

Veil Of Sound crowns the band’s output “timeless and classic and at the same time modern and progressive,” while The Razor’s Edge lauds, “…one of the most bizarre listening experiences you may have this year,” adding, “How The Infinity Ring have managed to construct fifty-minutes of music that can be this vast and far reaching yet be so intimate and introspective without a Mephistophelian bargain can only be speculated; but they do say the Devil has the best music. And if eternal damnation is the price to pay it will, at least, give enough time to unpick all the intricacies of the album.”

Stream The Infinity Ring’s »Nemesis & Nativity« at THIS LOCATION.
Watch the band’s previously release videos for »Tiferet II« HERE, »Crown Of Stars« HERE, and »Gift Of Life« HERE.

»Nemesis & Nativity« will be released on LP, CD, CS, and digital formats this Friday on Profound Lore Records. Find preorders and more at THIS LOCATION.

The Infinity Ring spent much of 2020 and 2021 experimenting in various studios around New England, deeply immersed in open-ended musical research and development. These sessions would eventually lead to a collaborative Ohr EP with Jarboe.

In early 2022, the band set out record »Nemesis & Nativity« at God City Studios in Salem, Massachusetts. The album builds on much of what came before, but with a more pronounced sense of ritual, atmosphere, and heaviness. During the creation of the album, genre conventions fell by the wayside and extreme experimentation was channeled, resulting in a sonic palette that morphs from elegantly haunted atmospherics to mystic ritual drone, brutalist industrial rhythms to passages of hallowed melancholy.

In the live setting, the band is dedicated to bringing the same experimental and spiritual energy, often incorporating several guest musicians into the ensemble. In certain live contexts, any semblance of a traditional band is abandoned in favor of a more freeform collaboration with other artists, or even in favor of a solo acoustic performance. Ultimately, The Infinity Ring is a collective united under a banner of experimentalism and hermetically-aligned creative practice, all in an effort to channel the intangible otherworldly qualities present in many different styles of underground music.

At times, the band has been said to invoke sounds such as Swans, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, and Dead Can Dance, all particular to their sonic worldbuilding.

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Zach Weeks at God City Studios in Salem, MA.
Produced by Cameron Moretti, Zach Weeks, and Matt Bond.
Artwork by MFAXII.
Guest synthesizer/modular on »Orpheus Dragonfly Satyr« by Fred Gianelli of Psychic TV.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.