Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Frayle premiere a music video for Soundgarden cover »Head Down« taken from the forthcoming »Superunknown Redux« tribute album!

US occult doom metal band Frayle premiere a music video for their spooky cover of Soundgarden’s »Head Down« taken from the forthcoming »Superunknown Redux« tribute album, set to release on July 14, 2023 via Magnetic Eye Records.

01. Ufomammut – Let Me Drown
02. High Priest feat. Bobby Ferry (16) – My Wave
03. Marissa Nadler – Fell on Black Days
04. Somnuri – Mailman’
05. Valley Of The Sun – Superunknown
06. Frayle – Head Down
07. Spotlights – Black Hole Sun
08. Horseburner – Spoonman
09. Witch Mountain – Limo Wreck
10. Beastwars – The Day I Tried To Live
11. Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows – Kickstand
12. The Age Of Truth – Fresh Tendrils
13. Marc Urselli’s SteppenDoom feat. Matt Cameron (Soundgarden, Pearl Jam), Igor Sydorenko (Stoned Jesus), Alain Johannes (Queens Of The Stone Age, Eleven), Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) & Utelo – 4th of July
14. Dozer – Half
15. Darkher – Like Suicide

Courtesy of Magnetic Eye Records:

Today we present a new single and video from »Superunknown Redux« with Cleveland’s Frayle unveiling their sinister and crushing take on favorite album cut »Head Down«. The video is premiering exclusively via the fine folks at Revolver Magazine today, so watch and be floored by this stunning aural and visual rendition in reverent homage to the mighty Seattle four. Pre-orders for »Superunknown Redux« and »Best Of Soundgarden Redux« on gorgeous 2LP and 2CD available on and our Bandcamp!

Parallel to »Superunknown Redux«, Magnetic Eye Records will release the by now customary companion album entitled »Best Of Soundgarden Redux« that contains further 15 cover versions of deep cuts and all-time classics from across Soundgarden’s extensive catalogue recorded by more exciting artists.

Frayle comments: “Soundgarden was an integral part of our development as musicians from an early age. »Fell On Black Days«, »Black Hole Sun«, the list just goes on and on. For »Head Down«, we deconstructed the song and switched the timing to 4/4.

The song as recorded by Soundgarden has overlapping drum parts, complicated timing, etc. We wanted to strip it down and give it elements of tribal drumming while at the same time adding layers of vocal harmonies and voices coming at the listener from all angles.”

Rising at the end of the 20th Century, Soundgarden were loud, heavy, genuine, and unaffected by whatever was cool. Their mix of weighty power, soaring melodies and punk sneer made them ideal standard bearers for the grunge movement, but their towering musicianship and intelligent songcraft helped them transcend the era and remain iconic far beyond their origins in the Seattle scene. Arguably their finest and most comprehensive statement, »Superunknown« was the album that launched them to global mega-stardom. It contains some of the most lasting, meaningful, and heaviest songs they ever wrote.

»Superunknown Redux« presents new takes on all fifteen tracks from the seminal Soundgarden album from some of the loudest, coolest, and most eclectic bands across rock and metal today, along with a few less heavy but absolutely captivating contributions. Along with »Superunknown Redux«, we also present our »Best Of Soundgarden Redux« companion album, offering up another 15 all-time classics and deep cuts from across the rest of the grunge gods’ extensive catalog.

The Magnetic Eye Redux Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish. Artists we love from within and outside the heavy rock landscape choose tracks to make their own, bringing these milestone records into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, we’ve produced Redux editions of Pink Floyd’s »The Wall«, Helmet’s »Meantime«, Black Sabbath’s »Vol. 4«, Hendrix’s »Electric Ladyland«, Alice In Chains’ »Dirt«, and AC/DC’s »Back In Black«, which have included artists like Red Fang, Matt Pike, Pallbearer, The Melvins, All Them Witches, Khemmis, ASG, Supersuckers, Zakk Wylde, Mark Lanegan, Ruby The Hatchet, and many more amazing artists.

Tune into the seventh foray into Redux territory as Magnetic Eye Records and friends pay long-due respect to the Seattle legends with »Superunknown Redux«!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.