Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Listen to new solo album »Spirit« by Danish-French psychedelic folk singer Emile; out now via Heavy Psych Sounds!

Danish-French psychedelic folk singer Emile (The Sonic Dawn) presents his sophomore solo album, »Spirit«, which was released on September 29th, 2023 via Heavy Psych Sounds.

01. Easy Ride
02. Nocturnal
03. Elegant Spring
04. Heavy Rain
05. Images
06. The Mountains Of Cape Creus
07. Circles
08. Thunderbird
09. Wilderness
10. Images (Slight Return)

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Danish-French singer and songwriter Emile is also known for fronting Copenhagen acid rock band The Sonic Dawn. On his new solo effort »Spirit«, Emile unfolds a new and exciting side of his songwriting: each song ebbs and flows effortlessly with a great sense of purpose always centered around his voice and masterful acoustic guitar playing. On »Spirit«, he is backed by a small ensemble of selected musicians and blackbirds singing the sundown. The lyrics reflect an unpretentious cosmic consciousness simply marveling at existence as it is. “»Spirit« is about connecting with our surroundings, with nature and the universe. There is beauty in transformation too,” he reminds us. This is a different album from a different singer-songwriter, both surrealistic and easy to understand, accomplished and untamed light and heavy – like the passing of time.

Photo by Mads Fisker

New album »Spirit« out September 29th on Heavy Psych Sounds:
US preorder – European preorder – Bandcamp

Shrouded in mystery, Emile creates an experimental and organic sound that is truly original. With his roots firmly planted in Copenhagen based The Sonic Dawn, the songwriter finds a new home for his more introspective compositions. The songs are based around vocals and acoustic instruments, often combined with immersive technicolor soundscapes. Drawing inspiration from late 60s counterculture and the surrealistic art movement, Emile’s music can be described as contemplative and highly lysergic.

»Spirit« credits: All songs were written and performed by Emil Bureau, with additional instruments by Jonas Waaben (percussion), Erik Errka Petersson (Hammond Organ), Morten Grønvad (vibraphone) and Rasmus Miehe Sørensen (flute). It was recorded and produced by Emil Bureau in a beautiful place in the countryside. Mixed by Emil Bureau at The Village Recording (Copenhagen) and mastered by Hans Olsson Brookes in Svenska Grammofon Studion Mastering (Gothenburg). Artwork by Robin Gnista.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.