Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Sardinian heavy blues rockers King Howl return with their third studio album »Homecoming«, out today via Electric Valley Records

Cagliari, Italy based heavy blues rockers King Howl return with their third studio album, »Homecoming«, which was just released this Friday, June 9th, 2023 via Electric Valley Records.

Says the band: “The great day has come, »Homecoming« is out now via Electric Valley Records! You can stream it now on every platform and digital store, you can come to our next shows to grab a vinyl, or visit our Bandcamp page and get your copy delivered to your home.

We can’t wait to play our new album live for the first time this Saturday at Corto Maltese Poetto. See you there!”

01. The Rooster
02. From The Cradle
03. The Train
04. John Henry Days
05. Motorsound
06. Slowly Coming Down
07. Tempted
08. Jupiter
09. The Great Blue Heron
10. Gimme Shelter (Rolling Stones cover)
11. Home

Courtesy of Electric Valley Records:

King Howl’s new album, titled »Homecoming« will be released by Electric Valley Records on June 9, 2023. The work represents a new chapter in the band’s stylistic universe, spurring King Howl’s trademark sound while mixing it with new compositional and sound influences. A mix of blues, stoner, psychedelia, and classic rock that paints the soundscape of an on-the-road story set in 1960s America, a narrative plot that permeates the entire work, accompanied by a constant sonic evolution, always on the road.

Thus, King Howl returns to the theme of travel, the band’s favorite concept from the beginning. In this story, a young protagonist escapes from a rural setting witnessed by the blues sounds of opener »The Rooster” and rock’n’roll anthem »From The Cradle«, followed by the beginning of the journey on the Kyussian railroad of »The Train«. This leads to the nineties echoed spoken-word of »John Henry Days« to the classic rock sounds of »Motorsound«, a true ode to the big truck engine’s vibrations. Consequently, the sonic journey flows into the oblivion of »Slowly Coming Down«. Here, doom and psychedelia carry a dark foreboding. »Tempted«, on the other hand, is a successful mix of country blues and stoner rock, an influence more and more present in the desertic »Jupiter«, a track inspired by one of the characters in writer James Anderson’s novel »The Never-Open Desert Diner«. At the album’s heart, the theme of travel and change symbolizes the animal world with the powerful »The Great Blue Heron«. This song is marked by the sound of the Hammond organ, which makes the piece even more granitic.

Photo by Elena Cabitza

»Homecoming« then pays homage to the great Rolling Stones with the sixties classic »Gimme Shelter«. Then it concludes this incredible journey with »Home,” an angry but hopeful homecoming. An epic in music, a round trip of growth and change, of damnation, redemption, and rebirth.

The album was recorded in Sardinia by Roberto Macis and Willy Cuccu and mixed by Nene Baratto and Richard Behrens at Big Snuff Studio in Berlin, a key production hub for international heavy Psych (Kadavar, Samsara Blues Experiment, Elder, Wucan). A sound production focused on an “organic” analog sound, thanks to the use of vintage gear and a reel-to-reel master made by Nene Baratto at the Berlin-based Morphine Raum Studio.

Artwork by Elena Cabitza.

»Homecoming« available in:
• 250x Black Vinyl
• 220x galaxy black/red Vinyl
• 30x Ultra LTD “Road Edition”
• Digital

Pre-order here:

King Howl is:
Diego Pani – Vocals, Harmonica
Marco Antagonista – Guitars
Alessandro Cau – Bass
Alessandro Sedda – Drums

FFO: Canned Heat, Clutch, Kyuss, Queens Of The Stone Age, Black Keys, Son House, Charlie Patton, Fu Manchu, Fatso Jetson, Red Fang

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.