Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Swedish heavy rock hero Per Wiberg releases new single »Follow The Unknown«; new album »The Serpent’s Here« out March 15th on Despotz Records!

Swedish multi-instrumentalist Per Wiberg has released single »Follow The Unknown« taken from his upcoming album, »The Serpent’s Here«, due out on March 15th, 2024 via Despotz Records.

01. Dead Sky Lullaby
02. The Serpent’s Here
03. Blackguards Stand Silent
04. This House Is Someone Else’s Now
05. He Just Disappeared
06. Follow The Unknown
07. The Losers (Warrior Soul cover)

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Swedish rock multi-instrumentalist Per Wiberg (ex-Opeth, Spiritual Beggars, Candlemass) presents the third single taken from his new solo album »The Serpent’s Here«, to be issued on March 15th via Despotz Records. Listen to »Follow The Unknown« now!

As an unrivaled musical alchemist, his work has illuminated an array of now-classic albums over thirty years by performing with the likes of Opeth, Spiritual Beggars, and Candlemass as well as Clutch/The Bakerton Group, Switchblade and Kamchatka. However, it’s his solo conjurings that serve as the zenith of his musical voyages. On his new album »The Serpent’s Here«, he is joined by drummer Tor Sjödén (Viagra Boys) who played drums on the previous EP, as well as bassist Mikael Tuominen (Kungens Män). Basic live tracks (drums, basses, grand piano) were recorded at Studio Gröndahl by David Castillo and, as with previous releases, the record was mixed and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren at Blacklounge Studios.

Stream Per Wiberg’s brand new single »Follow The Unknown«!

About the song, Per Wiberg says: “»Follow The Unknown« is the last song on the album and puts an end to a loose story that started with »Head Without Eyes« in 2019, the last piece of the puzzle so to speak. Musically it’s heavy, doomy and out there with a cool live in the studio feel. The melodic vocals lead the song with kind of a singer songwriter vibe but instead of the traditional Americana backdrop picture something along the lines of Melvins jamming with Pink Floyd and Motorpsycho. Once again a top notch creative mix by Jonas Kjellgren at Black Lounge that endorse the wild playing by Tor Sjödén on drums and Mikael Tuominen on bass, enjoy!”

Listen to previous singles »The Serpent’s Here« and »Dead Sky Lullaby«!

Per Wiberg »The Serpent’s Here« out March 15th on Despotz Records (vinyl/digital)

In 2019, Wiberg released his debut solo offering, »Head Without Eyes«. A record of Nordic prog submerged in a gnawing stew of jolting guitar notes and emotive melodies, Wiberg’s debut laid bare an unexplored sonic landscape that surpassed the successes of his past and solidified his strong presence as a unique solo artist in his own right. Wiberg followed »Head Without Eyes« with his equally stunning 2021-released »All Is Well In The Land Of The Living, But For The Rest Of Us… Lights Out« EP, a compelling celebration of innovative rock at its finest. Expanding and further evolving his vision, Wiberg expertly composed the definitive and established paradigms of traditional progressive rock with spirited and electrifying twists of dark tone. The Metal Observer hailed, “a great EP that serves as a fitting soundtrack to these strange, dark times,” adding, “its thick, otherworldly atmospheres represent a gloriously dark and hallucinated take on Scandinavian prog that weaves together Wiberg’s many musical influences and takes them to the next level of dark melodic exploration.

This year’s »The Serpent’s Here« continues Wiberg’s innovative trajectory boasting six consuming tracks – plus a fantastically gloomy rendition of Warrior Soul’s »The Losers« – that are at once grim and surreal; airy yet ominous. Wiberg paints vivid sound tapestries with his clever sense of dynamics and thoughtful lyricism. Each song moves with alluring subtlety and suspense, not unlike the conventions of classic film noir. And while he strays far from the traditional musical constructs, there’s an inescapable melodicism and intrinsic catchiness to his output that makes even his most experimental conjurings seamlessly accessible.

“All songs are built from rough song sketches that I showed Tor and Mikael,” elaborates Per Wiberg on the writing process. “The idea was that they could improvise. All basic tracks were recorded live in an afternoon to give it that extra spontaneous energy, and then I’d layer keys, guitars, and vocals on top of what we recorded. Overall, there are more guitars this time as well as two basses on the majority of the tracks. The music has a strong familiar identity I’d say. It’s heavy in its tone but this time a little braver, uptempo, loose, and ‘rock’n’roll’ compared to the previous two albums. Overall, this is the most epic sounding of my stuff so far. Things are more defined. I worked hard with lyrics and vocal arrangements this time.”

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.