Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Wayward occult rockers 1476 premiere new single and music video »Jade Fire: A Paragon«; »In Exile« full-length out July 7th via Prophecy Productions!

Salem, Massachusetts based wayward occult rockers 1476 premiere new single and music video »Jade Fire: A Paragon« taken from their upcoming album, »In Exile«, set to release on July 7th, 2023 via Prophecy Productions.

Filmed and directed by Robb Kavjian with assistance from Jay Mayo and Jennifer Kavjian.

01. Lost In Exile
02. Lapis Fire: Through The Mist
03. Tristesse In Exile
04. Jade Fire: A Paragon
05. When Comes The Dawn?
06. May Mountains Never Fall
07. Where Kings Fall
08. A Queen In Exile
09. Beyond The Meadows, Beyond The Moors
10. Carnelian Fire: The Gallows
11. Where Are You?

1476 is now officially a four piece band. Robb Kavjian comments: “You’ve seen them in our pictures and you’ve seen them for 5 years now at our shows. We’re pleased to tell you all that Nate and Young George are now full time members of 1476 along with Neil and myself.

They’ve been with us through many ups and downs, chaotic times and quiet times, all while remaining cool as fuck to the point of indifference. They’re always there, always give their best, and always go way beyond what we ask of them.

We should’ve done this a long time ago because I’ve always viewed us a band but we’ve always been in the moment, moving forward. So it never crossed my mind until Neil and I were taking promo pics for »In Exile«. I felt like I was doing something wrong not having Nate and G there. It almost felt like a betrayal. So we talked about it and here we are.

I’m very grateful to have them with us in a much deeper capacity now. I feel the decision has immediately made us all closer and it feels like the proper next step. And for all of you who follow us, Nate has actually been running these social media pages for a few months now as I haven’t been on them much over the last few years! So know you’re most likely talking to him when you message and comment! I’ve sailed off into the sunset.

This photo is a still from our upcoming music video for the final single from »In Exile« called »Jade Fire: A Paragon«. Shot to film on a Super 8 camera by us. DIY as always. See you soon, my Friends.”

Courtesy of Prophecy Productions:

There seems to be something sinister lurking beneath the beautiful landscapes of New England. Edgar Allan Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, and Stephen King, those American masters of the horror genre have been born and raised there, where they have also created their dark writings. It is hardly surprising that a band hailing from the infamous town of Salem, Massachusetts such as 1476 have created an album, which is heading down a dark road. Yet »In Exile« is not telling stories about witches, ghouls, or tentacled beings emerging from the depths. It is we, the people, who are on this path.

On »In Exile«, each song represents a world of its own. It all started, when singer and multi-instrumentalist Robb Kavjian pondered upon that ancient question of where do people go when they die. In his mind, he started to imagine real persons and imaginary characters as mystical beings or deities. These avatars served as spiritual guides to their personal worlds during meditations that used visualisation techniques. This concept of individual worlds in the afterlife led to a stylistically quite diverse album, which does not make it easier to describe the band’s sound. »In Exile« contains elements of folk, rock, metal, punk, and also a healthy pinch of post-punk, which can be summed up loosely as ‘wayward occult rock’.

1476 were founded by Robb Kavjian and percussionist and drummer Neil DeRosa in Salem, Massachusetts. The ‘first’ album, which is still found being mentioned about everywhere, is officially no longer a part of the discography as the core duo discontinued »A Wolf’s Age« (2009). This attributes the role of the official debut to »Wildwood« (2012). The album was widely circulated in the underground of several scenes. The sophomore full-length was designed as a soundtrack for an exhibition in Salem, MA tellingly entitled »Edgar Allan Poe: A Life Of Hope & Despair« (2014).

With »Our Season Draws Near«, 1476 returned to a more ‘conventional’ approach, at least in their terms in 2017. Whatever it is that leads artists to the dark side in New England has also touched 1476. For all those, who like their music outside of genre confines and who always wanted Dante as their personal guide to the infernal depths: »In Exile« offers radiant paths to take into exciting worlds beyond our reality.

Pre-order »In Exile«:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.