Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Listen to Primitive Man’s third full-length album, entitled »Immersion«, recently released via Relapse Records

Denver, Colorado based death sludge trio Primitive Man have just released their third full-length album, entitled »Immersion«, on August 14th, 2020 via Relapse Records.

»Immersion« is available on CD, LP, cassette, and digital.

01. The Lifer
02. Entity
03. Menacing
04. ∞
05. Foul
06. Consumption

Primitive Man also unleash a brand new visualizer videos for songs »∞« and »Foul«.

From Relapse Records:

Primitive Man return with the extreme, terrifying and confrontational new album, »Immersion«. True to the band’s ethos, every moment on »Immersion« is overwhelming; from the sonic pummeling on the album opener »The Lifer« to the brooding, unnerving guitars whirring throughout »Entity«, »Immersion« builds and builds. The tension throughout the record is palpable – hair raising tracks such as »Menacing« push and pull constantly, shifting from passages of harsh doom to an endless corridor of horrid screaming, blast beats, and a formidable low end.

Adding to the album’s darkness, a pervasive lyrical anxiety erodes throughout »Immersion«. A stark look at a mirror, »Immersion«’s themes tackle sobering views on existential crises, a general distrust among another, and the current state of the world. “Souring your view on your existence and everything you had worked towards. Allowing you to become possessed by the darkest parts of your mind that you have carried around your entire life and not dealt with,” Primitive Man’s Ethan McCarthy elaborates.

True to these dark times, Primitive Man’s »Immersion« is an introspective look into ruin and undoing. As McCarthy explains, »Immersion« dives into the point of no return. “Now you’re a grown man and you’re fucked.”

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.